Guide to Building an Audience

in #steemit6 years ago

During my mid-twenties I have read a lot of books. Mainly self-help and financial books. I was feeling like I had something to say, something meaningful which can support people having better lives. But I had nobody to say it to. Many of my friends think they do not need help no matter how broke they are. I had no “platform” to build up. Finally, I've heard about Steemit. It took me several months till I start writing here and here I am on my way to building my audience.

WHAT IS YOUR CULTURE?

c.jpg

First, and most important for building an audience is creating a culture. What are you all about? What is your message/contribution to the world? Figure that out and say it differently. Don’t do something 100% different. Take something old, figure out your new take and say it in a unique way that is good enough for you to differentiate from the rest.

For example, as a rap artist I run Facebook page where I share my vision. I do not promote my music non stop. I share what I am about: rap music, graffiti, bitcoin etc. For example, sharing bitcoin graffiti works great because it makes my followers feel like they are part of a community. I sell them my vision. I am creating a CULTURE around my music.

BE EVERYWHERE ALL THE TIME

Every start is slow. You write for one site. You write when they let you. You have a blog but people have to find it, etc. But if you do “A,” opportunities start to happen and then you need to do “B".

Trying to be everywhere is actually a good thing because your job is to reach as many people as possible. On one place you will receive recognition on other you won't. Focus on where you are valued. It’s to everyone’s benefit if you write in as many places as possible.

Be the Wall of Sound about the topic you have a vision in. Wherever anyone looks, they see you.

This took years to develop. But now it’s a bit easier because there are many public platforms you can post on and develop your writing. For me, place like Steemit is a preparation ground for my dream: writing a book. Here I improve my writing skills on daily basis and maybe I will attract enough followers so when I publish my book, it will be read by many people.

TELL A STORY

A story is the bridge of how one goes from “no vision” to “vision.” That is your content. Luke Skywalker didn’t believe in the Force. And then at the end he not only believed it but used it to singlehandedly bring down a galactic empire.

Two of the best resources of how to tell a story are the books Dot Com Secrets by Russell Brunson and The Hero's Journey by Joseph Campbell. Maybe I should write reviews to those books, shouldn't I?

DO THINGS. BE REAL!

Writing is not enough. If you are just a better writer, nobody will really notice that. You have to DO things. The best way to write a story is to create it yourself. Who else is sick of articles like: “Top 10 ways to be a better leader”? Why? Because without the explanation how you learned and developed your leadership skills you are just another trendy author. To be liked you MUST BE REAL! I run eCommerce company, I trade cryptocurrencies and do my own writing. Check my 60 day revenue:

a.png

When it comes to business who are you going to believe: me or someone who hasn't paid his social securities? The story is about someone DOING something. Then it’s worth sharing.

TYPE YOUR STORY EVERYDAY

Maybe you wait util you have something to say? Actually you have something to say everyday. So why don't you say it loud? Of course, you are not inspired all the time, often I feel stuck and unworthy. The key is to overcome it and write at least a paragraph per day. This is the secret I've learned from Sainfeld. Overpromise and overdeliver is the key to success.

MAKE IT WORTH SHARING

Make your story easy to share. Trigger the right emotions. If 100 people like it, great. If 100 people share it with their friends, then better. There is no formula for how to make things shareable. But in general, give people multiple reasons to share:

◙ A good story, with emotional pain, is often easy to share if it’s very relatable.
◙ Make sure there are good quotes that stand on their own. You can even imagine people tweeting those specific quotes.
◙ If you can put in a good photo, or quote-image, that gives people another excuse to share.
◙ If you do something ludicrously funny (and short), people will share it.
◙ And of course, if you say something completely new about Donald Trump, people will share it.

st.jpg

So: Have a vision, be everywhere, deliberately differentiate, tell a story, DO things (very important) and make it as shareable as possible.

P.S. Rest In Power Stephen Hawking.

I hope you found this article helpful, if yes then don't you mind upvoting or resteeming it? Remember to stay AWESOME!

Till next time,
Ivan