Minnows: Your Content Matters

in #steemit8 years ago

I’ve been active on Steemit for 3 days now.

This is what I’ve learned.


If you’re a new user browsing through trending posts, you’re probably wondering, “Is this a blogging site completely dedicated to Marine Biology?”

No? That was just me?

Let me just say-- I know what a "whale" is now.

Even so, a recent article titled Whales, From a Strictly Extraterrestrial Point of View
written by @the-alien threw me off gaurd.

“Finally! An article that is different and proposes an interesting theory gets the attention it deserves!” I thought, thinking back to a documentary I watched about squids and how eerily intelligent they are.

Then, as I began reading, I quickly realized that it was another informational post about the successful (whales) and the average (minnows) users of Steemit, and how important they are “in the grand scheme of an ocean of fish.”

Now, this isn’t a bad thing. It was still a great article, and I wasn’t disappointed for reading it at all-- but it made me question the content I was #writing.


Here’s the thing.

There are lots of educational articles about Steemit, for Steemit, on Steemit. That is totally necessary right now, especially for new users like myself who are wondering what kind of posts we should be put on here.

But that’s just it! I would have been equally interested in reading an article about how whales are secretly an alien species than I would have been on reading a how-to guide… and I’m sure there are tons of other weirdos like me that feel the same way.


The takeaway.

I’m going to continue writing and reading about whatever I want. That’s the point. Sure, there’s going to be people complaining about what posts get attention, or pandering to #whales, and I get it-- but I’d rather spend my time rewarding myself and the other shrimp that write stories, experiences, unpopular opinions, and whacky theories… because that’s what I like, and want to see more of.


Sort:  

Exactly. There's no point in bitching. "Be the change you want to see in the world". Upvoted...

Well, the creators of Steemit want you to play the long game - just holding Steem Power is advantageous and designed to retain the userbase. As more user with diversified interests (not just cryptocurrencies and bitching about whales) come in, the pie will not only get bigger, there will be more types of pies to dig in to!

That is a wonderful metaphor. I enjoy your slice. :)

where are we spock?