You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Men Deal With It Too

in #steemit8 years ago

If you look into some of my past posts, this isn't something new to me! Unfortunately, I have a lot of controversy, just for the fact that I identify as a feminist. It's pretty hurtful, considering half of the people that dislike me haven't even read my content. They just assume I'm radical.

I'm happy to hear that you and your wife don't subscribe to the "norm." I never did either, and in my experience, I have usually made more money than the men in my life! These stigmas are just wrong, and hurt a lot of people.

Sort:  

No, it's not for the fact that you identify as a feminist.

What's your beef with me then?

You said in a recent post that we should move from our archaic minds, and that you don't think about food, sex, or sleep. I don't know about sex, there can be many reasons, but the only way I can come up with why you wouldn't think about food or sleep is because you have those needs covered. And you know what that makes you? Privileged

You imply I am opressed, and I am not opressed. The poor are opressed, women in eastern countries are opressed, animals are opressed.

We are not opressed, you are fascist, the degree of anything is never zero

Yeah I don't subscribe to an idea of what is "normal". :)

Do your thing, I'll do mine.
If I hurt someone that is another thing.
If I force someone (even by coercion) that is wrong.

I've seen the flip side where the woman was anti-male... but I support gender equality. If I see people treating each other wrong in either direction I think it is wrong.

Equality is what I believe in. Not special treatment.

I think most issues would go away if other people thought that way. I think a lot of problems for all the (insert)isms are because we have too much "Special treatment" programs for different things. If we want equality we need to treat each other equal. It does take some effort to get people there but special treatment tends to lead to resentment and division.

If you make more than the men, and do a better job then more power to you. :) I also view that largely as between you and your employer and none of my business. :)

Hang in there.

I disagree with special treatment, as well.

It's a shame that some people don't look into the work I am actually doing. Too many assume and make judgement before looking into it. Oh well.

Thanks for the response/support! I appreciate it. :)