Variety on the trending page-- Long overdue!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Logged on to Steemit today, and whoa!

Such variety in the posts on the trending page.

This is why I joined. I hope this is something that continues. I am thrilled and thankful users are getting the recognition that is much deserved and overdue.


The Rant

Personally, as of late, I have been reluctant to share my content. A post from me will have 100 people engaged, upvoting and commenting, yet my payout is almost always low.

I’ll admit the fact that it is irritating to see users complain and moan about who is upvoting who. You can’t deny that this has been an ongoing issue in the community.

It is a bit jarring to see regurgitation get paid out more than original content.
A lot of other users agree.

Here is a prime example.


Here's the original post.

No original content whatsoever. It’s a gif of a video that has been in circulation for years. Yet a whale deems it worthy of high payout, and users are encouraged to jump on the bandwagon and upvote for curation rewards. This is bad behavior, and represents a huge problem.


Change is Here

With all of that being said, the past few days have shown me that there are large changes coming to Steemit. @dan spoke out about voting disparity, and today, I have seen more of a diversity on trending articles then I have ever witnessed.

Here’s to the future. Content variety, proper voting, and appropriate tagging. Cheers.

xoxo Vera

Sort: