STOP! Dolphins, don't upvote your own comments.

in #steemit8 years ago

Lately, I've started to notice that the dolphins upvote their own comments (whales have not been seen for this). And it happens all the time. I often see good comment below post with 1-2 cents and comment from dolphin looks like: "Good job" with 0.5-1.5 bucks. And it is not because a lot of people upvote, but because he put upvote himself. In fact, I do not understand why, in general, there is a function like upvoting your own comment. It is only the temptation to earn easy money. In my opinion, this function does not correspond to the ideology of Steemit. In a typical social platform, it would mean nothing, but in our - it is destructive. As the distribution of wealth slows down or stops completely, it loops on this man.

I'll be pleased to read your thughts about that. Please tell me that I'm wrong.

Drawing done by @summonerrk.

Sort:  

I have seen people on here recommending that people do that but it does seem self serving.

In fact, you are right. You wrote only about dolphins, but just imagine if whaled did the same. I mean, God, it is just an easy way to multiply your money? When you're a whale, you can just upvote your own comments and earn hell of money!

Yeap, its true. But i dont see that whales do it(i mean whales like @dan, @ned, @smooth and etc).

I guess, they don't need it. The don't care about voting their comments, if they just have big sums of money for every post and that sums are increasing and increasing

You know, good point... I have been doing it out of habit lately... I started doing it because someone encouraged me to do so... Your right, we do get a small payback but it seems to haunt the success of your actual comment. I noticed far more interaction then when I do upvote. I'm going to avoid upvoting my comments for a while and observe the differences.

That's good point of view.

You see, it will not be difficult to vote for your own post with your second account)

Yes, but more difficulf than only the one click

I hope that a Steem developer who understands the ins and outs of the upvote functions answers this question. I can only give an opinion.

One fact about the upvote button is that it is still in beta, so it remains to be seen how it will develope.

Furthermore, I am interested in doing science on Steem; the upvote button can be used by scientists to vet other scientists work. The button could evolve into a very sophisticated tool; something more than just rating an article. For example there could be percentage of a vote where you vote can give 50% or 25% of your vote and approval.

I upvote this article because it poses an important question to the community.

Thank, really thanks

I agree. This post will retain me from doing it again ;-)

This is still happening and it pisses me off. I'd rather they not comment at all... It's not like they ever bother to upvote the post itself
Do not use my posts as a way to spam with your useless comments and self upvotes.