You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Got Issues! Community Discussion - Whales Cannot Decide Everything - Take 1

in #steemit6 years ago

I went thru that link you posted for etiquette and nowhere in it did I see "don't upvote your own posts". First time I ever heard that was today when I find out steem cleaners is flagging for that. Good or bad whatever, it's the fact I have never heard of this until now. A site where people sell votes and have bot armies frowns on self votes. But there are no actual rules we are at the mercy of whales.

Sort:  

Exactly! Which is one of my very next topics. I actually almost led with it. There is actually a check box every time you make a post or comment that says Upvote post. It is a clear invitation to upvoting your own post or comment.

Upvoting your own post when it is good content that people want to see? Great and perfectly valid. Upvoting a garbage post to make a quick buck? I can see how people can get irritated with that. But if people get irritated they can flag! If enough users decide a behavior is bad and punish that behavior, it'll go away.

And that is just it isn't it? Where is the line? The site has not defined any. Many of the garbage posts you speak of could be a person trying to make a quick buck, and many could simply be someone that is no good at making a worthwhile post or simply does not understand that they are supposed to (and are they?). Then does it become a judgement or critique of how good a post is? I'm not sure that is what is steemit is meant to be any more than it was meant to be filled up with spammy crap.

Beyond that though, as a social site, we should really be used to posts that are worthless. If you look at facebook or any other sites, you will see people sharing the most ridiculously worthless things. It's sort of the nature of it.

When it comes right down to it, it is your voting power and you are free to use it how you see fit. Even if that is in a way that does not fit etiquette of the site.

Like you say, someone can flag it if they don't like it. Which of course raises a world of other issues I'll be posting about down the line.

Thanks for joining the discussion!

I've noticed that in pursuit of the sbd, people have resorted to using zap, and posting crap posts. It seems that great content has slowly started disappearing.
Two of the big whales that have downvoted people have different reasons why they did it. In one case, the whale in question was bullying a content creator because he didn't like her. It didn't have anything to do with her content, that I could tell. It was more like a personal vendetta.
In the second case, it was because the whale was concerned about the rewards pool and didn't think that certain types of content should be on Steemit.
It leads to the question of what content does belong on steemit. That debate is still ongoing.

I have seen this as well.

Yea, it is continuing. I'm hoping to bring it more out in the light so the majority can see it as well. :)

Damn right.

@steemcleaners doesn't flag for just upvoting your own post. There is something else going on there... like spamming and upvoting the spam or a myriad of other scamming that goes on across the platform while people are trying to make a quick buck instead of being functioning members of the community.

@sadkitten downvotes comment votes. I think there are/were more cat/kitty bots that do also.

4 that I'm aware of, plus the little army that one dude has.

there's cat bots! @goldenarms

This is a new one on me. I don't believe that Steemcleaners is flagging for simply Upvoting your own posts, because when you create a post, the capability is there and others have written about how important it is to do it. I believe they may be flagging those who are Upvoting their own multiple very cryptic comments!

Comment votes are downvoted by @sadkitten and I believe a couple more kitty bots.

I didn't know about that bot. I have never Upvoted my own comment, but when I see all the garbage comments with loads of votes and quality responses languishing, it makes me wonder about how fair the system really is. I saw a post the other day where someone highlighted a person who was really abusing the Upvoting of his own comments which consisted only of one or 2 words.

Yea, i know what you mean. The real issue is that if there is not a clear set of rules governing it then it is basically the site saying it is ok. Then, since the site is saying it's ok, it makes it questionable for larger accounts to be downvoting it. Kind of a catch 22 of sorts.