Improving SEO on Steemit blog

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A comment by @seomelbourne in my previous post on WebGrrrl.net search engine performance got me thinking: what would be a good strategy to draw more organic and search traffic into our Steemit blog?

In order to address this, we need to go back to the fundamentals of SEO and the steps to properly set it. Other websites discuss this in detail, so take time to read them; here are two references you can start with:

  1. Google's Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Starter Guide
  2. Austen Allred's step-by-step SEO tutorial for beginners

I stand by my opinion that Steemit SEO sucks. One obvious reason is that our blog is located in a subfolder of the Steemit.com domain, which makes it difficult to prove ownership and authority. It's one of the reasons why businesses are always advised to own a domain name instead of using wix dot com slash businessname if they want to effectively create an online presence. Another reason for the weak SEO on the current Steemit blog structure is that it spreads out the quality ratings due to different / varied / generalised topics, so algorithmically it's hard to make a distinction of what kind of content Steemit has more authority on.

Back to our original question: how do we improve our Steemit SEO?

I think I may have the answer -- a very biased one at that -- and it is this: make our Steemit blog and WordPress work together.

seo-wordpress-steemit.png
(img src edited)

@howo (Martin) and the gang has created some really awesome WordPress plugins, including SteemPress that's now hosted in WordPress Plugins Repository. I plan to set it up in my demo sandbox as part of my WordPress multisite installation, which I'll share soon. I have in mind a certain flow that I hope SteemPress can address, otherwise I'll be looking at another tool that Martin has developed called DataSteem to see how I can take advantage of my Steemit content.

I seriously need to do this soon. Steemit takes a bulk of my blogging time and I've pretty much "abandoned" updates on my PR4 blog 😅

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/programming/@webgrrrl/zero-to-hero-programming-does-it-work

Sort:  

@webgrrrl Really Informative Post, This is really going to help me establish myself online, thank you for sharing your knowledge on SEO!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

What a nice surprise to find this article! Glad to be of inspiration, especially if it leads to interesting posts like this one ;)

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.60% upvote!
I was summoned by @webgrrrl. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?