Growth-Idea: Send Steem Or Account Activation Via Email

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This was just a quick idea that might help bring in new users. What if we could send steem or an account with steem in it to a friend via email. They can open the link, be directed to the site, sign up and get their steem. We could even have the option to make an account and put steem in it and then gift that to someone via email. It can be a new way to get users in the site as they would only have to follow the link and instructions to get started. And the steem can sit in an account that can be retrieved by the users if the person does not accept the email.

It can say something like so and so sent you 5 steem ($8), click the link to claim it. It might have to be more personal with a message that people can type themselves so that it does not look like spam. If we can get the steem back that people do not claim then maybe we can start email campaigns that will only cost something when people actually sign in. We can even make something like you need to post five times before you can claim it.

Just a thought, what do you think?


@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Nice idea. But for me, whenever i get those click to open emails, i tend to be more cautious even if it is from friends. Cause nowadays, with the malware attacks, people will tend to be more cautious. Not sure if the developers can create something that is more unique.

But good idea to create more awareness of Steemit

Yeah that is why I added we need something like a personal message, it could easily be seen as spam.

You always have good ideas.

Thank you :)

I think it's a good idea.

Hopefully one of the more savvy developers can put something together.

Solid! Well it would be cool to be like, if you get your friend signed up you get $8 too! This would encourage more people to share Steem. That's what Square does to get people to have their friends sign up for their square cash app.

It worked too, because I signed up like 4 of my friends lol.

That's a good idea, people have been trying to get incentives on here for some time.

I agree that potential steam users can find out and learn about steemit links we send, but I do not agree if they get that way, because I think it's very unnatural!

Oh I like this idea, I'm all for it and I can't wait.