You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dude Where's Our Votes? #DolphinSchool, the vote weirdness of the past two days and a balanced approach to it!

in #steemit8 years ago

I thought there was a certain amount of money that is spread among however many votes there are? So, all of the rewards should be going out? Am I wrong? I saw some posts asking the whales not to vote for a few days, and I actually wondered if that is what is creating the lower payout amounts. I agree something has happened.

Sort:  

The other thing that is not being accounted for is the serious drop in votes by number. I was hitting an average of over 100 votes per post, 3 to 4 posts a day, today and yesterday I saw about a 30% decrease in the number of votes. Perhaps they were just following the whales?

Another thought and a good one. If the whales didn't vote all of their bots wouldn't follow them. Also all the curation bots wouldn't have their posts to upvote!

Mystery solved, man. http://catchawhale.com/ there has literally been NO whale action today at all, and without the whales to gain curation from, the smaller voters are abstaining, shifting the balance.

Why would anyone ask the whales not to vote for a few days? Links to those posts? Curious thanks for the comment!

The idea was to take their power out of the voting pool, since it will be distributed anyway. I will look for the posts.

Well, that's interesting, but sucks to be me, I was making decent money a couple of days back, now bupkus

If that were the case, each vote should currently be worth more, based on that, but I think when the whales refrain, the amount just goes down. My vote is worth two or three cents, sometimes more if there is already a payout on the post.

I will find the posts as it describes a specific outcome that would happen if the whales didn't vote. Be patient, I shall be back!

Sorry, not being impatient.

Interesting. but even in that post the author admits, they don't fully understand it. Perhaps I will end up better off at the end of the day than I think? LOL

Oh, I didn't think you were being impatient. I just wasn't sure how fast I could find them. Here is one. https://steemit.com/steem-ideas/@dennygalindo/a-day-of-whale-abstinence-will-answer-the-question

and the other - read the comments as well. So, I agree something has changed and I don't know if this is the issue. https://steemit.com/steem/@luminousvisions/safe-steemit-1-day-voting-moratorium-for-the-whales