You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: S.O.S! I'm being targeted by a malicious downvote bot!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@hasherfromhell Sounds good to me. Question, have you read the STEEMBOTS posting? If so would you mind putting in a check for #STEEMBOTSTAY & #STEEMBOTCOME ? This way the bot hate is reduced. People who genuinely don't want the bot traffic can simply indicate this desire by adding the leash code and you can know for sure that your bot is wanted when you see the invite code?

I think that will put down a lot of this problem. Some of us like to play with the bots. I know I enjoy them. In the meantime I'm working to find the owners of the "botkiller bots" and telling them the same thing.

I've also asked the devs for a bit of help on this by filing an issue asking them to change the rules a little bit so flagging has a slight monetary cost on the flagger as well so that it's not something you want to bot, unless you want an empty wallet and making it so that flags don't take money away, but simply nix the post all together when the total flag count hits a certain number like 100. But that's 100 users not a single whale with 100 points or whatever.

Remember, we can complain, we can fight or we can fix. I'd rather fix this stuff piece at a time and have the best platform in the world.