You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Didn't Sign Up For This - Shutting Down My Witness And Seed Nodes

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time I played a game with a friend, it was warhammer or alike, I can't remember. We were in the same house, two different room, same net. We just played it for the fun of it. So I thought. He always won. A day I discovered why: he was cheating.
It was just a game, no money, and yet he liked so much the idea of being the winner, that he decided to cheat. I couldn't understand: where's the fun? I believe the fun it's to win complying to the common rules.
Now think about it when there are money involved. People get stupid. They act strategically to gain money, beyond any other meaning in replying, resteeming, upvoting and so on. It's human being at his/her “best” (sarcasm).

Sort:  

Totally agree with that. I see more and more this platform focusing on a scarcity mindset of "not having enough" and that will eventually put it down. Unfortunately.

As for cheating, I have an even funnier experience, at an ultramarathon of 48 hours, which was ran across a 1 km lap, around the end of it we discovered that one of the runners was cutting the laps when nobody was seeing him. After 40 hours of running, he was still thinking to do this. Hilarious and sad, at the same time :)