Man Writes Steemit Article And Buys Upvotes. You'll Be Shocked To Hear What Happens Next

in #steemit6 years ago

It was a chilly Friday afternoon, like no other. The crisp air was condensing on my glasses. I was surfing Steemit.

I was reading the frontpage, looking at all sorts of interesting articles. But then I saw an extremely poorly written article with over $500 upvotes.. How shocking, I thought to myself. How could this be worth $500?

When I looked at the 10 comments, I figured it out. There was no discussion going on. Just bots saying "Thanks for buying an upvote!"

It occurred to me that I don't need to have a great article, or be popular, or even liked, to be seen. I could buy my way into the spotlight.

So this is what is happening now. I'm going to force you to listen to me.

On other social media, visibility is power. On Steemit, money is power. The rich get seen and the poor get ignored. I need to be rich, and fame will follow along.

But this is kind of weird because the poor should be getting money, not the rich. A corrupt system built to reward whales. But if a system was built to reward more poor people it would be difficult to make sure it doesn't get gamed. You can't pretend to be rich, but you can pretend to be poor. Bots would take over.

I don't really care about this post. I'm just writing it so I can have something to buy upvotes for. Ciao, I'm going to publish this and spend three times as long shopping for votes on Steem Bot Tracker.

Sort:  

lol totally true this platform has fast become a money making tool and nothing to do with social media. I have never seen a you tube video about the great content on steemit just how I made x amount of money or how to be successful on steemit but they fail to tell you that you need to dump a whole load of money and buy yourself votes. I was wondering if they stopped paying how many people would be on this platform??? lol also would be cool if people actually wrote something interesting back rather that ok, great post, etc which means they aint even bothered. Also they have removed the viewing counter to give you the illusion that people are actually viewing and voting when we all know that aint true, I have seen posts with 10 views and 100 votes crazy not sure how this platform will carry on in the long term unless something is done about it

Congratulations @yoghurt! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yoghurt! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yoghurt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yoghurt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!