Account Delivered Against Sound Advice

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Working alongside my friend @mada last week, and discussing my project to engage with a larger Steemit audience, my own good sense forced me to considered his advice, summarized (in tremendous paraphrase) as follows: “Stop posting navel-gazing content. People follow users who post on topics they enjoy reading about. Post content to match their preferences.”

Despite this sound advice, however (and upon finding it impossible to delete outdated posts), other friends have demanded that someone hold me to account for what declarations with which I failed to follow through. Therefore, I decided to offer some account for the difference between what I’d posted here about undertaking months ago versus what I’m actually doing today.

We’ll start with what I claimed I’d do:

1. Set a target of residing in Italia as a freelance writer ("the requirements are pretty low: proof of 8400 euros of income in the previous year, according to Migreat")

2. In order to support the above and to produce an additional income stream beyond freelance writing, take a course to become an instructor in English as a second language in Mexico


(Originally found on the writer's Instagram)


We can argue about whether or not I've made it any closer to target #1, but with regard to #2, the conclusion resounds in the negative. I still managed to visit Mexico, and will see some friends there again soon, but I was definitely on vacation.

Next: what I did instead!

Sort:  

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

Great post man. keep up the good work.😁💲

@zachnewell