Is anyone interested in a desktop client for Steemit for power users?

in #steemit7 years ago

As I mentioned today in my introduceyourself post, I am a programmer. I just recently signed up for steemit. I was chatting with someone and got the idea to create a desktop client for steemit. I'm curious if anyone is interested in this? I could put in a lot of features over time and release it for free.

If you are interested, do you think letting it be cross-platform windows/mac/linux is important, or should I focus on windows? What kind of features would a steemit power user want to have?

I was considering doing it Pharo Smalltalk, which is not a very popular language, but would make scripting your own extensions and viewing the source code very easy. It also already has it's own GUI system. It would make adding additional functionality like bots or different views for steemit information easy.

Follow me if you're interested in that, or you're interested in my main content which will be a complete chess guide from absolute beginner to expert that I'm working on, but will be a long adventure, not just a small guide.

Cheers

Sort:  

This post received a 25% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @zenchess! For more information, click here!

I am not allowed to say (on here) what I would do for this, but if you DM me on Chat......BRING IT ON!

That actually already is a desktop client. eSteem created by @good-karma has a mobile app and desktop versions as well.
https://steemit.com/esteem/@good-karma/esteem-announce-release-of-desktop-app

Thanks, I'll check it out

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @zenchess! For more information, click here!

Yeah no problem. I have been here for 10 months and I had either forgotten about or didn't realize some of the stuff that was out there. I was just looking at this last night and there were some cool things and projects that you can draw from if you are wanting to code for the STEEM blockchain.
http://steemtools.com/

Hmm. Looks pretty cool. I'd say that my intended desktop client will have a different focus. Mine will be a bit more focused on power users, with lots of options for botting and lots of data visualization like real time graphs/charts/real time network connections and what not. I don't think my client (at least at the start) will be as 'user friendly' as esteem. Progress is going pretty well so far and I'm trying to decide what the first killer feature should be. I do have some crazy ideas like storing plugins for my client as source code on the blockchain, but uh, we'll see =)

The power users want to have the ability to delegate Steem Power. There is some existing ways to do it. https://steemit.com/delegation/@timcliff/tutorial-how-to-delegate-sp-to-another-user-using-the-steemconnect-tool-from-busy-org

Also Some of the features that https://streemian.com/ offers. Being able to automate the rollout of posts. Also creating curation trails.

Just a few power user features to think about. If a lot of the cool functions of a lot the tools out there were put in one place with a couple of other features that really haven't been done then people would love it.

Followed and upvoted. I think a desktop client would be awesome. Much as I love the GUI that the website has developed, the Steem blockchain was conceived in the idea of people bootstrapping all sorts of apps to it. If you could make it cross-platform compatible, it would be more widely adoptable, but I couldn't tell you what most people use as far as OS.

Thanks for the feedback. I've been doing even more thought about this. The desktop client could have 2 'modes' - #1 would be the risk free mode where you can view steem, get info on steem, graphs, charts, whatever. #2 would require you to login, but you'd have the full power of your account. Maybe that would be scary for a steemit user, although I would make the source completely transparent and perhaps even require you to install from source so you know you're not getting scammed. Would be nice to get some more feedback. How do the steemapps do this? Do you have to enter your password on external steemit app sites to get full functionality?

Depends on what you're trying to accomplish. In order to make posts or make changes to the wallet, you have to be logged into the account. To browse doesn't require login. It's like viewing an exchange vs. executing trades.

There are apps out there like https://steemconnect.com/ that can help with connecting without the risk of sending your user/pass to a centralized database.