You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I removed all my posts!

in #steemitabuse8 years ago (edited)

Things that don't get big payouts usually go unnoticed as they also have less visibility. But personally I respect you and your own opinion on the matter, sadly mine in an SEO perspective differs. Clearly for the organic visibility of the platform, others might be jealous but curation is subjective afterall.

I know I also got overly aggressive and we had a big fight on Slack, I apologized to you and publically apologize. After things calmed down and we talked more civilized.

I dont mind people saving things they like on Steem but hopefully we can have boards like Pinterest or similar but no-indexed so Google doesn't look at Steem like a low quality - duplicate content - link farm website .

This is the snippet from Slack after we chatted and I think people should read it before they go on hating you.

" @talerecursion (nickn) @repholder and @anyx explained to me how duplicate text can hurt steem SEO efforts, so I will make sure i'll use custom text because i like this project an i want it to succeed and i hold vests because of that, regarding the photography, i beg to differ, we had a long discussion on the thread below, and even a lawyer pitched in to explain his legal point of view, i'm posting mostly photography that has made the news, so it's kind of news reporting which is accepted under fair use license, anyway only a judge can decide that, not you or me and as the lawyer pointed out, if there is damage done, the party will issue a takedown request to the webhost or steem. As long as the photographers themselves are ok with some of their notorious photos being published all over the web, i don't think it's a problem. here's the discussion:

https://steemit.com/steemitabuse/@corinnestokes/re-posting-other-peoples-photos-videos-on-steemit-fair-use-vs-commercial-use#@sean-king/re-corinnestokes-re-posting-other-peoples-photos-videos-on-steemit-fair-use-vs-commercial-use-20160723t175131893z"

Your a cool guy and down to earth. Here have an upvote.

Sort:  

I mean no offense by this, but from an SEO perspective why should steemit get the relevance for these posts anyways? The content is in the blockchain, it's not on steemit, and it's very likely that the same content will exist elsewhere on some other website using the same blockchain.

As a developer myself I understand why you want as much SEO relevance as you can get, don't get me wrong. It would help steemit grow organically. But you also have to accept that the content on any site site may exist other places and may not be unique. It's not always a bad thing.

Edit: to just close out that thought with my opinion - I don't think absolute copy/paste content is OK, it's kind of spammy and the only redeeming quality it could have is being a backlink. But if you use an asset that you're legally allowed to use (from elsewhere) on steemit, it should be fine, and you shouldn't get brigaded by down votes.

SteemIT is a frontend that is indexed in Google and other engines.
True that the content on any site site may exist in other places, a small detail here is that content needs to have supporting content of your own or it's basically worthless organically.