Architectural Thesis: Animal Museum and Conservatory for Endemic Animal of the Philippines

DSCF3548.JPG

The last year of architecture student is making research and drafting specific thesis proposal. It is individual task given to 5th year student to propose a study and have a research about it and defense its feasibility, design and other architectural matters in your chosen study.

I choose a Conservatory Research facility for Endemic animals here in our country. It is needed here in our country for the deteriorating population of the animals especially the endemic species. To gather some information I had a chance to go to some animal shelter in the Bataan and Quezon City. I first go to the Wildlife In Need in Morong, Bataan. The picture above is taken in WIN and it is an owl eagle that they have rescued from smuggling of animal traders.

DSCF3555.JPG

Most animals in the facilities are species of Eagles and Monkeys which are rescued and some are turned over by their owner. The animal keeper told me that once the wild animals become domesticated, they will not be freed in wild and it will just die because its wilderness and survival instinct vanish because it dependent on human to survive.
The last animal shelter I go is in the Ninoy Aquino Wildlife and Parks in Quezon City. It is manage by the Government Agency which is the DENR BMB. The animal in this shelter is also rescued and turn over by their owners. Like this species of Calamian deer which is endemic in Palawan.

DSCF3615.JPG

It really hard for me to this kind of thesis because it not only planning for people but also for the animals. As an Architecture student , I need to consider both animals and people that will accommodate in the facility. Now that the research writing is done in the first semester, I need to plan the whole Facility in my boards. Hopefully to pass and graduate this last school year haha.
Thanks for reading  and I’m open for any suggestion and information