Minnow Bait: my Steemit Art Challenge entry

My entry in the Steemit Art Challenge: "Minnow Bait". Watercolor and marker on paper. 

Here's how it went:

1) It's a lovely day. Let's set up outside on the patio table. 

Watercolor paper taped to my lap desk, to keep it flat; a big jar of water, some brushes, watercolor set, pencil and eraser. Most important: iced coffee. 

2) Start with a circle. Helps to have a circle guide, this little plant pot will do.

3) Sketch the Steemit logo. Lots of erasing and redoing, but now it's looking okay. Add some paint, darker steem first, then the lighter one. Hope the color doesn't shift too much as it dries.

4) Steemit has such potential! Let's show that with some kind of corrola effect.

Hmm. That didn't turn out quite how I had in mind, but that doesn't mean I don't like it. 

5) Let it dry, then erase the pencil lines and tidy up the logo edges with fine-tip markers.

6) Let's add some more color. 

How 'bout minnows. I haven't been on Steemit long (2 days!), and one thing I've figured out is I'm a minnow and I'm not alone here. 

7) Minnows can't resist Steemit.

8) Let's give those minnows some fins and bigger tails, so they can swim faster to Steemit.

9) Looking good, a few little pen details to add eyes, darken the spines...

10) Add a swirl of water… and we're done: Steemit Minnow Bait!

That was fun! Thanks for playing along with me.

#steemitartchallenge



Sort:  

Great job! (Full disclosure: I'm her husband, so maybe I'm a bit biased.)