Venom Charcoal Sketch

in #steemitartists6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3450.JPG

I had a bit of fun playing with charcoal. It's not a medium I had used very much before so there was a lot of trial and error involved. I enjoyed the challenge of working with a new medium.

IMG_3333.JPG
I livestreamed the drawing process onto Instagram. We found this awesome phone clamp which works really well. I will still figure out how to get this rig working on dLive.

IMG_3335.JPG
Using a soft brush, I smudged and spread the charcoal around to create softer shading on the face.

IMG_3338.JPG
Then I did the detailing pass, pressing hard on the charcoal and getting those hard lines in.

IMG_3330.JPG

Flash just wanted to get up on my lap 😄. Any time I sit down Flash comes for some butt patts, flicking me with his tail if I dare stop petting him.

Hope you have a great art day!
What art medium do you want to try but are scared of using?

Cheers
Lynton

Sort:  

Brilliant pic, Loving that Flash wants in on the action!!

He is a sweet little thing, I really like that photo of him :)

Very cool ;)

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

#teamsouthafrica

Thanks so much! I appreciate it!

If you have the time feel free to join us
https://discord.gg/5vCjcp

Oh boy, I want those teeth, look great to eat for the next fifty years. A bit of a Penny Wise look Awesome! @moderndragon

Well you certainly would never have a problem with steak!

Aaw Flashyfloof. Silly Kitty. He's so your cat :)

The drawing came out great love xx

That looks amazing man! Great job :) I'd love to be able to draw. Unfortunately, it'll take lots of time and practice. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks man! Well, time and practice is what got me here :)

2.39% @pushup from @fates

Well done @moderndragon. By the way, I like that name "modern dragon".

#teamsouthafrica

Thanks very much, I'm glad you like the name, It's from the story I've been developing over the last few years. It started with this blog where I do the writing and illustrations. https://themoderndragon.com/

stunning, wish i could can draw/paint like this

One of the images at the top is missing. Mind to update the post?

Hmm, it's showing up fine on my side. I have updated it. Is it working now?

Cool its showing on my side now. I'm on Chrome. Thanks