New year, new opportunities!

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

2017 was extremely uncomfortable year, being that it was the first full year outside of my Marine Corps service since my discharge. It started off pretty rough, trying to transition into a new civilian job and eventually quitting to head to another job in the pipeline industry, which eventually led to me being laid off and heading to trade school in Georgia. However, the biggest takeaway from 2017 for me personally would be falling in love with martial arts again! I found alliance jiu-jitsu in Henderson Kentucky and the the rest of the story continues to write itself. While on active duty I spent my time trying to juggle my responsibilities as an active duty Marine and ultimately a leader of Marines while also trying to pursue my dream of becoming a fighter. Injuries and personal issues kept me on the sidelines more than I'd like. The transition from Marine to civilian has been tough every step of the way, but I can thank Jiu-jitsu for helping me find myself again and gain a new set of brothers that I've been missing since I left the Marine Corps. I competed twice last year and took one silver and one Gold, this year my goal is to take home 2 golds at the next tournament and also win my divisions at NAGA! I hope everyone has a great year!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!

Thank you! Great to be here!

Bout time! Glad to see you here :)