The Cultivated Apothecary Week 11- Edition 1: Lemon Balm Vinegar

153191876986978714.png

Learning new skills, creating new recipes and experimenting (to test) my knowledge has become a daily process on the homestead here. I am constantly looking for new ways to utilize my gardens' harvests.

Found some lemon balm so fresh in the herb garden this morning I just had to pick it



I have been wanting to experiment and make my own homemade vinegar; and I believe this is the first of many vinegar recipes I will be experimenting with over the next few months.

I started watching a YouTube channel by Rain Country and this woman seems to be the Queen of Vinegars. So I have been taking notes on some of her more popular, and favorite ones, and coming up with my own recipes.

Lemon Balm Vinegar Recipe

  • 1- Pint size glass jar with ring and breathable towel or napkin
  • 1/8 cup of organic pure cane sugar
  • Enough cleaned lemon balm to fill jar 3/4
  • Distilled or purified water to fill to the top of jar

I will be adding an additional 2-4 teaspoons of the sugar to the jar over the next week.

I only made a pint size for now to see how it comes out. If it does well, I'll make a half-gallon size.



I used a wooden spoon to mix the sugar, water and lemon balm; making sure the sugar dissolved completely in the water.

This took only a few minutes as I wanted to make sure it was all mixed well.

I like to clean with lemon around the homestead as the fresh scent really makes me overjoyed; so this is why I wanted t make lemon balm vinegar.



Now the solution will sit in the corner of my kitchen counter so I will can mix it with a wooden spoon every day for about a week. Two to four of those days I will be adding an additional teaspoon of sugar to the mixture; as vinegar NEEDS sugar to ferment.

I will leave this on the counter for about two weeks then transfer to a dark area or cupboard for an additional two to three weeks until the vinegar is done fermenting and bubbling. Then I'll transfer to a spray container to use.

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Will you write how has the vinegar furned out when it's done fermenting?

I can't wait to see how this turns out! We have so much lemon balm I had no idea how to use it all. Thanks for another great way to put it to work!

Seems you have a golden thumb when it comes to things like this, can't wait to hear how it turns out.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Oh wow, this is really interesting!! I can't wait to see how it turns out, ughhh but it does take quite some amount of time doesn't it? Wish the process is faster! Xx

This is very interesting, I wonder what will the results be after it will ferment. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.781 which ranks you at #1393 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1399).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 438 contributions, your post is ranked at #148.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That sounds really, really good. So aromatic and fresh - must be delicious on salads!

So cool
I am always in awe of those who make their own stuff
And make it look so easy ;)

@goldendawne This is SO inspiring!! Looking forward to more of your posts. Upvoted and followed (:

With love from a fellow #steemitbloggers

howdy goldendawne! haha, this is cool, I didn't know you could make a vinegar from Lemon Balm! wow, and that will be used like regular vinegar?