STEEMIT COMIC ARTISTS! Participate in the first Steemit Comic Trials!

in #steemitcomictrials7 years ago (edited)

This is it, Steemit! It’s been on my mind for months. I just needed to clear my plate to roll out this new Steemit endeavor. There are so many awesome contests happening here in the Steemit community. I’ve been on the sidelines waiting for a comic creators contest and […to the best of my knowledge], there isn’t one yet. I decided that rather than sitting by, I’d host my own. Enter the Steemit Comic Trials […sorry, I’m not adding another “Contest” or “Challenge” to the gamut that already exists].

I have some ideas that’ll leverage the “Trials” theme a little more in coming weeks, but for now, this is a place for the Steemit community to show off art skills, specifically in the realm of comic book design and illustration. Each week will have a different theme, and I’ll probably take a page from @jamtaylor’s book, asking prominent members of the comic enthusiast community here on Steemit to guest host week to week.

Steemit Comic Trials mission is to promote and foster the community of comic illustrators and graphic novel artists here on Steemit. Each week, there will be a new trial participating artists will have to conquer, involving a particular subject or skill within the comic medium […story telling, sequential art, lettering, pencils, inks, etc.] I’ll be drawing an example of each week’s trial to kick off the challenge. 


Prizes

Initially, the prize will be 25.000 SBD weekly, from me and there will be one winner chosen per round [...for now]. I would like to bring on a sponsor or two that would match my prize winnings, so if you’re sitting on some crypto and you’d like to help sponsor and grow the comics community, please DM me on the Steemit chat to arrange your contribution to the rewards pool […naturally, if you’re contributing to the winnings you’re not eligible for the prize, which includes myself].


Rules

• Up to three entries per trial round [weekly].

• Original artwork only

• Winners will be chosen based on quality of work, submitted before deadline and ability to adhere to the weekly trial theme

• Must resteem the contest post you’re participating in

• Must include #steemitcomictrials hashtag


Inaugural Steemit Comic Trial Theme

This is already week one! The first ever Steemit Comic Trial theme is zombie self portraits! This one has a little caveat to win. You must post an actual [living] photo of yourself in addition to your undead drawing. Any medium is fine. Traditional or digital. No need for sequential art or panels […but fine if you’d prefer to tell a story], but most importantly, we need to see you as a reanimated corpse! Here’s an example.

Deadline for this trial is Wednesday, August 23rd 5:00 UTC, 12:00a.m. CST

I’m hoping this takes off because there is so much talent and comic book love here on Steemit. My hope is this moves the needle forward for all of us as artists, and the Steemit comic culture overall. Communities are coming in HF20 and I think this weekly challenge will give us a nice launch pad for comics, graphic novels and illustration once they’re rolled out. Any questions, please comment. If you’re participating, resteem and help get the word out. If you’d like to sponsor the #steemitcomictrials

Sort:  

We had to get started on a "news" section on our site just to help promote this great competition! The Steem Comic Convention is also happy to donate an additional 5 SBD to the current prize pool!

Self-Zombification Complete: Steemit Resident Evil.

https://steemit.com/art/@ghostcode/zombie-ghost

Oh, man! @ghostcode! This is great. I can tell you put a ton of work in to this! What a great entry.

Wouldn't exist without your creative desire to inspire true self-reflection.

So fun! Can't wait until the next one :) Thank you @kommienezuspadt for hosting. Here is my entry:
Full post - and guide on how to draw zombies

klar.jpg

And the obligatory photo:
DSC_002254.jpg

Evil Dead! That's powerful, pure horror!

I'm getting started on my entry tonight! Wonderful initiative. Down the line I may help sponsor, but for the inaugural edition I'm out for blood (and brains of course!) Especially since you already made me a tombstone to arise from...

Let the Zombification process begin!

HAHA! That second tombstone was reserved for someone I was sure, without a shadow of a doubt, would be entering, @bryan-imhoff! :P

Thanks for thinking of me and giving me an extra kick there! I'll go ahead and recuse myself from winnings actually, just happy to submit some art! I'll be adding 5 SBD to the prize pool courtesy of the Steem Comic Convention - @steem-comic-con - if that's cool!

I thought your first post Mr Bryan of the Imhoff Clann was very go getting. In that, one such as yourself would clearly win due to your vigorous excellence of desire.

One have been working all night on thy zombie self-portrait. 6th ale...

That's true, How's that for implied motivation :-)

Here's my entry for the trials!

and a link to my full post for more info/ photo, etc!

I'll be foregoing prize participation for the inaugural event here, and I'll donate liquid rewards from my own post to future Trials prize pools! Great entries so far by everyone. I'm really loving this idea and many thanks to @kommienezuspadt for organizing it!

Last minute entry for myself.
image.jpeg

https://steemit.com/steemitcomictrials/@jrej/zombie-me-sct-entry

Thanks for organising such a cool event. Great idea! ;-)

Awesome idea! As a comicbook writer I'm probably going to have to sit this week out.

I hope eventually a theme will be in line with what's going on in "Ithaqa"

Until then I'm happy to resteem and look at all the art though!

I'd like to match your 25SBD for the winner.

Pretty sweet idea dude. Here's my entry. I couldn't resist doing some storytelling. Good luck to all! #steemitcomictrials
RandomZombie.jpg
IMG_0445.JPG

A'ight! I'm in. Cool idea! Lets have fun.

I will Join !!! <3 <3 REESTEMED

Glad I found this one! I'm in :D

Dear @kommienezuspadt
Great article
Nice artwork
Good post
No words to describe how much you love with steemit
good work
Well-done keep it up

Thank you @ravenrillay! I appreciate that!

Your welcome dear friend

This is epic! ^^ Can't wait to see all entries and zombified versions of Steemians! I don't have such skills or capacity as you guys, but I will definitely enjoy this.

I can't wait to see what Steemit turns out @m31! Thank you. Down the road, I may do a writing trial, which is obviously a huge part of the comic book process. Maybe that would be a better medium for you?

Possibly, maybe :) writing trial sounds great.

Great idea and post introducing the Trial! I only wish I had the skill to participate in this, but I am eagerly looking forward to enjoying the trial entries.

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

This sounds super awesome & creative :D

I wish I could draw haha
Lovely work! I can't wait to see the other contestants creations!

What a great idea, but you should put in a deadline (date and time of day). Upvoted, resteemed and followed.

Finished the first photo-to-zombie self-portrait image.
Now working on a full body render, and I must say… It is looking fabulous!

This is awesome! Way to lead.

Cool, something fun to work on this Sunday :-)

Awesome idea! I'll try to find some time in my schedule to participate. We need more events like this! You rock! Resteemed!

So when is the next trial? This post is 9 days old. Did I miss the new weekly trial. I did not get to participate in the first one, but I very much want to contribute.

IF the new theme has posted please reply with a link.

BTW neat idea for a contest, I mean trial.

aweeeeesome

Shockingly --- of the hundreds of zombie portraits and commissions I've made over the years ... I've never done a self portrait!