You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update your STEEM apps! Big changes coming for 3rd party developers

in #steemitdev7 years ago

Interesting - I believe we weren't quite production ready on that two weeks ago. It's usually best to wait for a formal announcement to update such things. But thank you for being on top of it anyway, much appreciated.

Sort:  

Hay @justinw - I would totally agree with you, but as a third party developer myself I have to say that this is quite impossible. - I need to implement the stuff at the same time you do it, because you do not provide a lot of information to us. From my point of view this is more or less the first time I hear about a change early enough.

If we talk about Steem Updates its quite a nightmare - You release a new Steem Version, everyone updates the nodes, and depending on the changes, a lot of third party tools are no longer usable (at least parts of them).

I've talked to timcliff some time ago that it would be really great to have a changelog for third party devs some weeks before you release changes.

That would be really really nice <3

This IS the advance notification and is why we're not discontinuing hosting a websockets enabled cluster of steemd's (wss://steemd.steemit.com) - at least not yet. We want to give everyone fair warning and a chance to update their libraries before discontinuing this service. It's never our intention to leave behind 3rd party developers. If you need help updating your applications or
steem library feel free to reach out to me directly on steemit.chat and I'll do my best to answer any questions you may have. This will be a transport change, not an API change - anything that worked over websockets to steemd will work over http/jsonrpc, generally with fairly minimal adjustments. We made a commitment earlier this year to communicate as much as and as far in advance as possible for any API changes or anything else that could effect third party developers. We will continue to notify everyone about any upcoming changes in advance. Steem on.

Thanks for taking the time @justinw - Yeah, as I said, this is the first time I see an announcement early enough and I love it. If you keep doing this for the future and especially for API changes I am more than glad to hear that <3

Regarding the switch to HTTP I also agree that it is not the most complex task :D

Steem on! :)