3 Steps on How Not To Panic During Special Quiz and Exams: Tips Given by My History Professor

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Image Source

If you have a good memory and can memorize things easily, you’re blessed. Who wouldn’t want to have a brain that can easily pick-up things, words, dates, and name of people in a blink of seconds? Sadly, memorizing is a tough one for me to do and during my studies, I have to read all over and over again for me to familiarize the words, phrases, things, places, a name of people, dates and etcetera. If I have an exam, I would start studying at least 2 weeks before that as I need some time to put things in my head. Memorizing is my weakest point but familiarizing is my mastery. The only problem of familiarizing is, it takes time. How I envy people who can easily memorize things. Their minds are brilliant.

Image Source

In line with memorization, my sincere apology for saying this, but, History subject is the most boring class for me. Well, I love to learn the history of our country but if you are gonna say: sit for an hour and a half and listen to your teacher, aggghhhh, men, this will demotivate me to listen and just put my huge eyes to sleep. Since Elementary days, I always have difficulty in memorizing dates, places, events and people that have been tackled during my History classes. And I have to admit, my lowest grade is with my History subject.

During my college days in one of my History classes, my professor in History 3, told us that he doesn’t want his students to fail or get a lower grade in his class. So he taught us his techniques to easily familiarize or memorize our lesson. Take note, this technique will not require you to review your notes before the exam. “You can enjoy your day without worrying about your incoming History Exam!” , he said. So here’s the technique that I wanted to share with all the students here in steemit who also have difficulties in memorizing.

1. Listen

Image Source
Basic. Listen, and surely you will grasp things and will easily remember it. Take note that it is easy to remember things that has been discussed during the class than the one you have self-review.

2. Take Note

Image Source
Many students failed to do this and they think taking note is not necessary as handouts are provided. Tsk. Tsk. Not everything will be mentioned in the handouts and some of it is hard to understand or need to be discussed further. So if you are going to take notes of your teacher’s lesson and note it in your handouts, it will be easier for you to absorb and not forget it.

3. Read your notes and handouts.

Image Source
Read? Isn’t it basic? Yes, it’s basic but that doesn’t mean you’ll read your notes a night before your exam. Behold, this may be the last step but this is the most important one. What my professor told us, the most effective way of reviewing notes is reading notes that have been taken before leaving the class. Next is reading the entire notes from the very beginning until the last lesson before the class will start. Repeat this every day and believe me, you will not worry about the exam day anymore. Instead of spending few minutes chit-chatting with your classmates, spend it by reading your notes.

Conclusion

Exams are as scary as your Mom especially if you fail or scored low. Nonetheless, it’s a way of measuring how far we have learned or remember the lessons that has been discussed. It is also one of our basis to what grade our teachers will give us. The above tips were given to us many years ago and I wanted to share it to all the students here because this was very effective to me. My grade in history improved a lot and I do not worry whenever we have surprised quiz, long quiz or exams. It makes my life easier and the result is positive.

Sort:  

Congratulations @appleskie, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.

About @BestOfPH
We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you so much @bestofph!

As a student I hate to memorize and like you, I also dont like History subject. I struggle to teach Kuya that until now. It bores me. 😅

Although, your tips also helped me a lot in my student years. Basic- listen, take notes and review later. It will help you understand more. There are some students who only memorize without understanding. That is bad. 😉

haha like how I studied CII exams. 2-3 months of preparations. LOLS. :D :D :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by appleskie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much! :D

Isn't it funny that i have exams today and i am tryinh to memorize a few stuffs myself 😊😊😊.
Great post and these tips are surely not bad.

Hope you'll pass! :) Thanks for dropping by!

I did my utmost best..
Thank you

Isn't it funny that i have exams today and i am tryinh to memorize a few stuffs myself 😊😊😊.
Great post and these tips are surely not bad.