You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Autism (Awareness Month) Spectrum

I think that Autism Awareness month has done a great job of increasing awareness but there are so many people who really don't know the full gamut of what Autism can be. The spectrum is so wide that it is hard to even put a limit to it because the way Autism can affect each individual so vastly different. For anyone to think that Autism is just Autism is very naive and borderline ignorant. It is one thing to say you are Aware of Autism but in order to truly understand and put an end to stereotypes people should take the time to look at "what" Autism is.

I have two Autistic students in my class right now and they are completely different kids. One has no issues with socializing but has huge sensory issues and emotionally thinks at a level well below is age. The other student is almost crippled with anxiety and has an extremely difficult time interacting with others. Both of these kids are very high functioning academically but have other things that cause difficulties for them. I have worked with students who are so developmentally delayed that we are focusing on life skills and all the sensory issues and anxiety is still there. The more we understand, the more we can accept. Thank you for taking awareness to the next level!

Sort:  

Keep promoting Autism. I worked with Autistic children for 7 yrs and we have an autistic child in my in laws family. So little is known about it and the causes of it. I wonder if years ago autistic folk were not institutionalized and locked up. 30 yrs ago when I went into the mental health field I visited an institution for severely handicapped adults and I remember being struck by the residents and their self absorption, non communication, and repetitive behaviour.

Great examples! I wish I had included this quote: "Once you've met one person with Autism... you have met ONE person with Autism." Everyone is unique.