Engineering days-- MATHEMATICIAN OF THE YEAR and RESEARCH CONGRESS experience

image

* Engineering days *

-- a yearly activity of the department in Cebu Technological University-main campus where every engineering course showcases their expertise in terms of academe, applied or even camaraderie through sports.

image

Students from Civil, Electrical, Electronics, Industrial and Mechanical Engineering enjoys team sports, board games, musical and the dayoffs from pressures in math and engineering stuffs.

image

The professors also showcased their stunts in dribbling and crossovers as they compete in basketball. All were in glee cheering their respective departments.

Coming together is a beginning. Keeping together is progress. Working together is success. --Henry Ford

The highlights in the event are the search for the MATHEMATICIAN OF THE YEAR and the RESEARCH CONGRESS. The two are the academic scholastic competition where engineering students are best at. I joined the two competitions to atleast enjoy my last year in college and to test myself if I'm able to these kind of contest.

image

Preliminaries were conducted in searching for the next Mathematician of the year. We were atleast 40 students who took the courage to joined the first elimination.
Luckily, I was able to get to the top 26 for the final elimination. I was very shocked I made it. I was very thankful because my efforts during my review has paid off.

At the finals, I dropped out from the top 16 who will race for the MATHEMATICIAN of the YEAR. A forth year Mechanical Engineering students was then crown as the MATHEMATICIAN OF THE YEAR 2018.

image

MC▲Team with @egbertcabahug and @igso7

Being able to join also in the Research Congress is very intimidating. Our research about RESIDENTIAL POWER MONITORING AND LIMITING SYSTEM USING GLOBAL SYSTEM FOR MOBILE AND INTERNET OF THINGS CLOUD DATA LOGGING is our entry for the said event. We were terrified because the two events were at the same time while my other groupmate @egbertcabahug made it to the MATHEMATICIAN of the year. Afterall, our presentation went well although there were technical error during our presentation ( our simulation video didn't play).

image

The results went well falling us on the 4th place even there were faults during our presentation. It was tough that only decimal points was the 3rd placed differs with ours. The cash prize was great but the experience was priceless. For me, it weights a major impact in overcoming my stage frights and doubts.

image.png

I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

Sort:  

Very well documented. I’m from cebu too! What school are you in?

Im from ctu main

Thank you :)

Nice read from a future fellow engineer! Enjoy you student life because boy, it is a tough world out here haha

yeah, that's very true

Im from cebu and also an engineering student in UCLM, good job bro. I know its hard to be an engineering student but we have to do it because its our dream

Yes. It is indeed very tough but we can manage it through this all. Fighting !! Btw, what course did you take?