You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The meaning of "Service" and the effects of division of Powers

Thank you for engaging and delivering an extended perspective.

What I find is that terms like "greater than oneself" and "ideas" can be totally misunderstood. Indeed, people have a strong longing towards something or someone greater. As I interpret it it doesn't have to be lift up but only to be accepted as reality. We talk about here is that we know of the connection of things, be it people and all other matter. The knowledge about this connection could be called "Devine" as to ignore it means to ignore reality. One could also say life on earth is organic, the earth peoples like an apple tree apples:)

When you think about group dynamics and have practiced democracy in a small group, let's say a class of students who must achieve a certain goal by group effort you soon realize that this group needs a lead. I experienced this during my education where we focused on group dynamics and easily found out that there is always someone who acts as a leader and people willing to follow when the majority of the single minds want also to achieve the goal. If the task is changed it is also happening that not the same person holds the lead but another one who seems to be more competent in a particular matter. This requires physical togetherness to be sure of to whom giving the lead. So I would say in small groups this works best.

I think there is actually no difference between what you and I say. I did not say that we are ready to govern ourselves but that we already are supposed to to so. As loyalty is not being demanded from the government of mine. I am not forced to join a political party, no military and also no church. So I am left to my own devices. This is good as it gives me freedom but on the other hand its not so good as it gives me the impression to be left alone and as if my life and voice has no meaning. Which, of course, is not true.

To be left to my own devices means that I am responsible for my choices, decisions, actions and omissions. But I need an ethical conduct. Without it I am lost. I don't know when I would be ready to go through life without the strengthening through a ritual or a ceremonial act but I think people in general need that and lack it in modern civilizations. It's the visualization of serving in an ethical manner which has a strong narrative character.