Homework: my views on its importance to the students

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

what is homework
This is a task or an activity required of a child to do without the help of the teacher. It's usually done at home..

Is homework important for the children?
Homework is one of the strategies for learning..
Psychologically, we have different types of learners.. Some learn slowly while some learn fastly.. Some learners needs motivation to learn while Some are not interested at all in learning

Homework is a source of motivation to learning
When homework is being given daily, it makes the child gets addicted to his or her book..
It helps the child revisit the previously taught lesson to help him gain more knowledge of what he's required to do
Along the line, the child may cultivate a good reading habit thereby leading to more knowledge gain..

homework is Student-centered
Through homework, a child is being exposed to a problem which will make him to either deeply or research to find out the answer..
Homework helps the child to learn new things on his own..
It makes the child more effective in his books..
It makes him understand he has responsibilities after school..

Negatively,
Children needs rest..too many homeworks daily makes the whole thing boring... Like, the child becomes tired and bored about the whole thing..

Remember that "all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy"
If the homework is too bulky for the child, it used up all his time and as such limits his time for rest and play

Also, when a very difficult task is being given to a child, it makes the child wants to believe that he doesn't know anything.
it makes the child dependent on others to complete the task.

I give my students homework..
I do this after every topics have been completely taught..
I don't make it too bulky so as not to make it boring
I don't do it to award marks or for evaluation
I don't make it difficult so as not to make them unable to finish the task
I don't give homework when it's close to exams time so as to give them more time to read as home work is time consuming
I give My students homework daily
images.jpg
Image source: google
I love homework
I support homework
U5dsRPi58h2Stc4hkPdkJukonwwUMoG_1680x8400.png
Photo source: @steemiteducation