Sort:  

I love how things have changed from the way they were when I was a child, but we had the desks that had the chair attached, they didn't make many left handed desks it was very hard to find them in the classrooms, I am left-handed and always had to sit sideways to be comfortable while wriitng, I love the younger teachers and their awesome Ideas.

There are a lot of good ideas coming from younger teachers because their professors in college have studied research-based methods for educating. Unfortunately, it takes a lot more to convince school board leaders and principals that these methods are superior to the old ways of doing things. I'm hoping that more changes will occur, but for now, I'm proud of the difference my wife has made in the lives of her students.

I can't empathize with the left-handed dilemma, but I know many people who are left-handed, and they would probably say the same things. I know in college they've moved away from those types of desks now in favor of tables, but I did have many courses in lecture halls where they would put a left-handed desk down the left side of the auditorium by the aisle.

Thanks for your response!