That’s Edutainment: Kamp Krusty

For more than fifteen years, I have been teaching world history to high school students with special needs. The vast majority of these students have a very severe deficit in reading. They need to practice this skill as much as possible. Although I provide many opportunities for my students to hone their reading skills, the deficit can create a barrier to learning some of the most important concepts in our world history class.

As a result, there are times I need to find other ways to inspire the students to engage in discussions and learning.



Teachers need to compete with quite a few of distractions.

As I have mentioned before, one of my favorite ways to generate student interest is through the use of pop culture. Nothing is better than The Simpsons.

This week, our class focused on the causes of revolutions. The state curriculum requires us to use the French Revolution as the primary example (although I choose to incorporate more modern examples as well).

When I teach an important concept, I use some combination of teaching, discussion, and application in order to help the students to learn it.

For Revolution, I begin by creating fake school rules. I present them to the students as if they are real. Each of the fictional rules corresponds to one of the causes of revolution we study later in the lesson. This activity is quite effective at grabbing their attention and inspiring them to want to learn about the actual causes. It also provides a common example that the class can refer to as we discuss revolutions and their causes.

After sparking their interest, I use a memory trick, pictures and animations to help the students to understand six basic causes of revolutions.



Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 10.35.05 AM.png
Although these aren't the only causes of revolution, it provides a common starting point for the students to use to analyze some revolutions. This slide is the summary of the larger discussion.

During the presentation, I ask the students to relate the causes of revolution back to the fake school rules from the beginning of the lesson.

After the students learn the vocabulary and ideas and connect them to my fictional example, it is time to see if they can spot them in a less obvious source. This is where a typical class would present some case studies for the students to read. But my class is not “typical”. I save that reading based task for another day.

In my class, this is where the fun comes in.



The revolution begins!

I tell my students we are going to watch an episode of The Simpsons titled Kamp Krusty. After a little bit of cheering and fist pumping (from me) I pass out the accompanying sheet. This sheet calls for the students to identify and record examples of each of the six reasons for revolution that we have studied.

Miraculously, because The Simpsons writers are freaking geniuses, every single cause can be found in this episode.

If you want to play the “game” for yourself, Kamp Krusty is the first episode of the fourth season. If you are creative, you will discover an example of each cause of revolution.



Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 10.41.37 AM.png
The students jot down quick notes as the causes appear in the episode. When it is over, we discuss their findings and flesh out their ideas a bit more.

If you would prefer not to play, here are the answers:


  • Economic Distress - The students identify the lack of food, poor housing conditions and forced labor as economic causes of the revolution.

  • Nationalism- Most students immediately identify the "U.S.A." chant as an example of nationalism. If they look deeper they can use the campers' love of Krusty and the camp song as another example.

  • Social Injustice - The campers at Kamp Krusty represent a group that is being treated unfairly. The children at the weight loss camp are treated even worse. It is no wonder they wanted to revolt.

  • Unpopular Method of Rule - It begins with Mr. Black being in charge of the camp instead of Krusty. It is made worse by the fact that the school bullies have been given positions of power.

  • Religious Intolerance - Although it is a stretch, the camp has been built on top of an Indian Burial Ground. Although not a direct cause of this "revolution", my students are able to articulate that if Bart needed allies, he might be able to inspire the indigenous people to join him.

  • Enlightenment Ideas - The students quickly see Locke's concept of "right to revolution" illustrated in the episode. They also point out that the episode uses one of Voltaire's favorite techniques: satire.



In every class in which I have shown this episode, there is one question that is always asked:
“Mr. Hanshotfirst, did they write this episode for history classes?”

It sure seems like it.

Images 1, 2, 3

Info on the Kamp Krusty episode.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Ha! Fab.

As a Maths and Computer Science Teacher (I've been doing it for about 25 years now), this sounds like one of those perfect examples that you come across every now and then.

I spend my days teaching people to become teachers nowadays and one of the clips I use to introduce my Computer Science teachers to the fact that some of their students will be functionally innumerate is the Blackadder- Some Beans sketch:

Not because I'm trying to say that their students will be like Baldrick, just to get their attention.

An excellent post, keep it up.

Oh this is brilliant!

That is a great lesson. Hopefully, others can use it to learn in an entertaining way also. Thanks for sharing your curriculum secrets!

Yes, I am planning to hire an Animator to make me a Rick and Morty Scene where they goon Steemit while using "Interdimensional Internet" and Rick makes jokes about JerryBanfield and Haejin lol "yeah morty people in this dimension get paid in bitcoin just to Blog, "hey rick do Bitcoins work between dimensions rick?" "Don't think about it morty!"

Most teachers have a peculiar way if teaching, his methods are quite amazing.

Thanks! I hope that someday it will be easy for teachers to share resources and ideas here. Someone already posted a pretty fun attention grabber for math in these comments. I voted it up to the top.

We need to watch that episode when we read about the French Revolution for history class now.

For sure. Tell your teacher about it. I started using it many years ago. One by one I have gotten all of the other World History teachers to use it. Now its a school wide thing.

It’s one of good way to make your students to get interested and listen . 😊😊😊😊

Sounds like a perfectly cromulent teaching method :)

Hi, I use to be a teacher I teach government and literature to students andy experience was quite funny but worthwhile,

I found out that students find in difficult to maintain dates and numbers, they do not remember definitions, philosophical point of views and maybe theories, and what I did was back up my teachings with anecdotes and number patterns.

I also look for the dates or popular people in all walks of life and link them to my teachings, before I stopped teaching, I found out it really helped the students a lot.

As I have mentioned before, one of my favorite ways to generate student interest is through the use of pop culture. Nothing is better than The Simpsons.

I'll be applying for a teaching job soon and I think it'll be wise for me to learn something out of this. Maybe I can even adopt this strategy too or improvise considering how the classroom situation and students will look like.

I read the post all through and I've learnt greatly from it. In that case I'm adding this to my special bookmarks.


Thanks @hanshotfirst for sharing this. I won't lie I learnt a lot and I'm sure others will too

It's been almost three years i have been in this wonderful field of teaching and everyday is a funday with lot of new things and yes i am not history teacher at all lolx :-D
when i feel my kidies are tired i turn them to some jokes or games ;-)

BeautyPlusMe_20180221113708_fast.jpg

Seems like a very fun way to learn, I reckon that this would be fun for kids of all ages, regardless if they have special needs.

Those older seasons of The Simpsons have so many good episodes which could be incorporated into their learning experience.

Thanks for the interesting read!

I wish you were my teacher!!! You are an example of what all teachers should be. Actually relating to the students! I bet they'll never forget these lessons. I love your creativity!!!

Does it take you forever to lesson plan?

It really does take a long time. But now I have a strong base to use so I spend most of my time adding to and tweaking what I have.

I used to be a teacher so I know how hard it is. Especially with special needs, I can only imagine. I was diagnosed with ADHD as an adult, so I had to struggle through a lot. It would have been great to have a resource like you when I was in school. You're obviously a very caring teacher. Much respect for you. You have one of the most difficult jobs in the entire world... and I know you're not appreciated enough!

The simpsons writers are also in my opinion genius. If you look aback at all of their epiesodes they have produced so many things that have come to fruition even if they were in fact presenting them in a satirical way. Another relavent cartoon would be southpark and their willingness to attack both sides of the isle although they are probably not accepted as easily in the school system.

LOL. I tell my students all the time how brilliant South Park's satire is... but no way i could show it.

As the father of a special needs child I can tell you that you are a Godsend my friend. Wow this is fantastic. We need more teachers like you. God bless you. Where do you teach please?

That's a good way to learn history..
If I had a teacher like you, I would've paid attention in my history classes lol

Thanks! The funniest part is that I hated history when I was in school.

and you now teach it, how did you come to love the subject ?

I liked history, I didn't like the teachers that taught history..
They made it sound so boring, when actually it's an exciting subject

Nice post! History is such one of the boring subjects I have when I was studying and thought it's useless but now when I grew up, I realized, it can be way better than learning math and science.

It's great how a TV show can teach us more about life than a public indoctrination camp can.

Everyone definitely loves the Simpsons. The world is changing now and we've got to keep up with some of these changes, like incorporating entertainment into education just like you did, makes it more fun and interesting.
Weldon Sir @hanshotfirst

giphy-downsized (3).gif Very elegant way to present you, The truth is in all your words.
It is possible to get many useful examples from your writing. well done and keep it up.

Every word of your mind, you wrote very well. Hopefully you'll be giving us a good post like this.
I would like to say you keep it up and well done.

Useful post Thanks @hanshotfirst

Woww, useful post ,i like it

To inspire students in learning, teachers need involvement with students so that students will be happy to receive the material given, so it will be easily absorbed by students

“Dear Mom, I no longer fear Hell, for I have been to Kamp Krusty. Our nature hikes have become grim death marches. Our arts and crafts center is, in actuality, a Dickensian workhouse. Bart makes it through the day clinging to his unwavering belief that Krusty the Klown will come through. But I am far more pessimistic. I am not even sure if this letter will reach you, as the normal lines of communication have been cut. Now my efforts of writing has made me light-headed. So I close by saying, SAVE US! SAVE US NOW! Bart and Lisa.”

Reading your post is the best thing i done today. Thank you so much for the post.

I like your presentation is very clear and understandable, your students are very lucky one, you have use different methods to ensure the information pass to them to understand.

Your teachinh style very nice...It admits of no doubt...love to read it.....so nice educational post.....

This is brilliant - I am going to remember this for my FR lesson - thank you. I have never really watched Simpsons but it seems like I am missing out

Nice one dear

extraordinary & pleasant!

Mathamatics😘😘😘

Hehehe
Good job

Hmmmm, I've never been taught History all my life, I try to read books to at least help me know especially about my country, I'm told history classes are always so boring. But I think yours is different. Keep the good work.

Haha. . @hanshortfirst ..almost every student at his/her early age hates history and history classes...same was tge case with me...i used to do some extraordinary acts in history classes..my eyes were always heavy and sleepy... But now i personally feel that history is one of the best subject among others....it is so joyous to read history...may be today we are more mature than the past and has got good understanding skill and patience...:p

Very innovative method for teaching! I loved History in high school, till we had this one teacher... I swear he was the spawn of Hitler...
I also love The Simpsons and agree, the writers are geniuses!

This is such a great post.

So they address you as Mr.Hanshotfirst, that's a very peculiar way of addressing lol :d
Who knew I would have history lessons on steemit.

i really dont like the history BTW :P

Congratulations @hanshotfirst, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 52 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $4133.37. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

This is absolutely brilliant!!! I have totally been there myself. Trying to find new ways to engage students. I have been a singer, dancer a circus clown and a street performer. At times its feels like that's just what we are. Performers who are skilled in the art of improve. We shape shift and change our routine daily based on the lessons and the needs of our students. Many a day I have had another teacher or a parent walk buy the classroom door and have a chuckle at the antics going on in my room. I have never thought to use the Simpson's but I am sure there are a lot of great educational content and "life" lessons that can be learned. I may have to open up a new book of tricks before the school year is out. Kids learn best when they are having fun. Thanks for sharing the great strategy from your classroom @hanshotfirst

thanks also @hanshotfirst
I always upvote you.
maybe my upvote is not useful for legendary steemit ..
hehe :)

It's not easy to teach history!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Advice posts are very good. ... Thanks Friend

I salute you sir @hanshotfirst. I've been also teaching children with special needs, its not that easy but if have really that passion to teach them well, it will be a great help with them. Thank you for this inspirational post.!

interesting way of presenting loved it quite cool :D

Wao i really love this post

definitely i loved it you way of presenting thing is unique i love that :)

you gave the evolution to a new revolution

You are a man of great merit to the world.
You teach for 15 years.
Surely many of your schoolchildren have been successful.
I thank you.
although I am not your disciple,
but you are my teacher ..
the services of a teacher can not bibayar.
teacher services will always be remembered.
good luck to you sir
best wishes for all teachers in the world.
the world is sophisticated, thanks to the teacher.
greetings to all of you.
teacher.
Good luck
Love the children (y) .

There are 2 pages
Pages