4 Things You Need to Improve Simultaneously for Steemit Success!

Have you seen accounts which post nothing but have thousands of followers? Did you ever come across an account with high reputation but relatively low SP? Such sights are common on Steemit. But don't the look really odd to you? I have been having this thought for some months now but today I am going to let it out as a post. Through this article, I hope to convey an important message for everyone and I hope that it will help readers in succeeding on Steemit.


Image designed via Canva.com and background image is free to use from the inbuilt gallery.
 

These things may seem very simple but their gradual and relative progress is of utmost importance. Without further delay, let us see what the four important things are.

1. Reputation Score

Understanding Steemit reputation score is really important. The Reputation Score 101 guide will help you in thoroughly understanding the reason of having such a system in place and its working. Consider the following paragraph from the guide.

Reputation score shows other users how much you have contributed to the platform and how the community has welcomed you. If your reputation is below 25, it is self-evident that you are not doing anything good. If your reputation is 60, it means that you have put in a lot of effort and delivered a lot of value to receive many upvotes.

Reputation increases only if you get rewarded and you are rewarded only if you put in some effort. If you do not put any effort, you will most probably be flagged. Just yesterday I shared 7 things you should stop doing while commenting to avoid being flagged. Flagging has a negative effect on reputation. You should care about your reputation.

If your reputation is not increasing gradually, it is a point of concern. You should work on your content more because your content is the only source of reputation. Keep track of your progress in terms of reputation.  

2. Followers

When I say followers, I mean organic followers; followers which come naturally to your blog because something on your blog attracts them. The number one and the most important bringer of natural followers should be, and is, your content. Their should be a steady increase in your followers as well as your reputation.

Do not ask people to follow you in the comments on their blog posts.

I recently achieved 3000 followers. But for me, the way my followers grew is more important than the numbers itself. I did have a monumental increase in my my following lately though. In just two months, my followers have doubled from the 1500 in December, 2017. When you look at all the content I produced in that duration, it all seems logical.


This table from this recent post by @abh12345 (image credits to him) is interesting from the standpoint of our discussion.

Keep a track of your following as well. See who is following you and what they need. Provide them with the content that serves them well.

3. Steem Power

Steem Power represents your stake in the platform. Other than your time and effort, this is the major investment you make. Most people invest their time and effort only in the hope of getting some Steem Power. I have invested a little but most of my SP came from rewards. 

The way reward system works, you get a limited amount of SP. In fact, the ratio of SP you in your rewards decreases when Steem's prices rises. Basically, building SP is a difficult task as Steem thrives.

But you should consider that your rewards are distributed in form of both SBD and SP. If you are not getting enough SP, you can always buy Steem from the internal market by selling your SBD. If you wish to spend your liquid SBD on promotion, buy some Steem from the external exchanges and power up.

Recently, a trend has been seen where people have reputation, low number of followers and very low SP. The only reason behind this is that whatever the earn as SBD goes to content promotion services like MinnowBooster and SmartSteem or to bid bots. 

This must be avoided. Increase in your reputation without and equivalent increase in your following and SP clearly shows that you are not adding much value to the platform.

4. Number of Posts

This is purely the content part. The number of posts shown on your blog includes both posts and comments. You should not post too much. You should also not write too many comments because it will compromise quality. Posting too many times will also decreases your bandwidth and you may be temporarily unable to post.


When it comes to the number of posts, I admire the insanely efficient @charles1. We both joined in June, 2017 and look where he is. It's either because he's doing Steemit full time or because he is German. 

However, there should be a steady increase in the number of your posts. Publish great posts on your blog, write valuable comments on others' posts, and reply to comments on your blogs. Doing it regularly and in a recommended way will not only increase your number of posts but also improve the three previous metrics.

Conclusion

Your blog is an important part of representing yourself on Steemit. The statistics and the numbers it shows have a deep lying meaning behind them and they are indicative of your habits and personality. A gradual and simultaneous increase in the four most important things is key to Steemit success. These key areas are:-

  1. Reputation Score
  2. Followers
  3. Steem Power
  4. Number of Posts   

I hope that by reading this post, you will be able to analyze your blog and see where you need some improvement. Please resteem it to help more people; especially your faithful followers. Your upvotes are always an encouragement for me to do more.


As a standard feature of all my posts, I am listing all my previous work to help people find the required information or guidance. As I write more and update the previous work to add more value, the list will keep evolving. Feel free to share with people who need it; especially new members.  

Newbie Guides

Steem Guides

Steemit Tips & Advice

Advanced Understanding of Steemit

Steem Ecosystem Guides (Services Empowering Steemians)

 Divider Image Credits: @kristyglas. More in this post. 

Sort:  

I think Steem Power is the most important one ;)

Yes it is, but how can you achieve more of that when you don't have good content on your blog or good relationship with people on steemit? We just have to try our best at achieving the height of success.

I think the number of posts and engagement is more important, a lot of people have a lot of steem power but if they will not be active they will never grow.

These 4 Points are very important on steemit.Each has its own importance.You explained very well about all four points.

@ilyastarar My friend I follow you always to learn from you and in fact I benefited from you many and many things I learned from you things I did not know things related to reputation and voting and posts and also create a thumbnail to me using Janafi I wanted to know the creation of a picture put on my name or picture Thanks to your posts I knew I do not have to thank you You deserve all the best for what you have given us and how I wish to be a personal friend to you not only here but on Facebook also not to learn more from you

I've been writing on similar topics, but you're articles seem so much more authoritative. I post on a variety of topics, so I haven't seen as much follower growth as I'd like. I think if I can find a niche, I should be able to attract more followers specifically for that topic. Followers seems to be my weakest link right now.

Good luck to you. I have included a 9 step guide to finding your niche. It may help you stick to one or two and gain focused following.

Thank you! I'll read it!

I couldn't agree more... these are exactly the things I'm focussing on right now.

I'd like to add thought that "Growing SP" is probably the hardest of them all... it's a bit of an exponential thing, and for newbies this is the biggest source of frustration: Without SP, you struggle to grow your SP... and don't even get me started on bandwidth issue :p

Anyway... you hit the nail on the head again... as usual! high-5

Nice work!

A good compilation of links and some sound advice :D

Cheers!

I am glad to see that you are the first Pakistani who is sharing quality stuff on steemit. I recently followed you on @biyanoor's behalf. But seriously i appreciate your effort because very few people put full effort to share valuable knowledge :) . Now lets talk about your post first of all thumbnail is good but the text in white is not so clear please try to make background little blurry so that text would be clear its just my point of view. May be you have better option. Thats true if you work firmly and steadily on steemit your reputation definitly increases. I agree never ask someone to follow you or upvote for upvote. Overall your post was informative and keep working like this. Because newbies like me wants to learn a lot from people like you :).

Lovely it make sense ..thanks for the post

I follow u brother

Thanks for sharing ..@ilyastarar

every post for u teach me more about steemit .. thanks alot

I always read your read outs and sincerely it helps.

I have a basic question....
Does having upvotes on comments increases one's reputation???

Yes. Comment is considered a post by the code.

Thanks for the great tips @ilyastarar
I have been trying to find that balance between overposting and commenting, and not doing it enough. It seems to be a fine line. I'm gradually building following, slowly starting to see see SBD come in.
The theme everyone seems to be clear on: just keep plugging away, posting unique content that you have an interest in

I do agree with you, brother

We must keep Reputation Score, Followers, Steem Power and Number of posts . Those are related to one another.
I tried to make better posts, I gave good comment in other posts. Now my followers continue to increase.

Thanks for your valuable post.

That is interesting advice, I think need to translate to other language too, so, other steemians who not understand english will know this.

Thank you, your posts let me understand what's going on.

This is worth to read and worth to share, worth to upvote too but since I have low vp now, all I can do is to share it. Thank you for this information. Glad I found it.

There is a lot to learn here. Thank you for a very detailed and informative post. I hope to make my posts better after putting these to use.

I don't see why a large number of posts is a bad thing. Sure, if you post a lot it probably means that the average amount of time spent per post is low, but that doesn't mean the quality is low because it is still interaction. And Steemit, at least for me, is a social network for interacting with others around great content.

@ilyastarar when I referred you in my intro post there was a simple reason behind that... you are brilliant and simple. The combination of those two is brutal, in a good way. I think you have managed to find a brilliant niche for yourself on steemit but more importantly you are helping and serving the community in the finest way. I also checked your commenting post, little scared because I myself do a lot of comments but never copy paste. I like interacting and getting to know people. In addition, whenever I need help, I comment to ask for advice. I hope it won't be a problem. Lastly, change your name from ilyastarar to Mr. Professor...you got a big role on steemit in my view.

is there any other use case of reputation score except affecting others reputation score or been affected by others reputation score?
and is there a known calculation that can tell how someone's reputation score can be affected when 100 users with 25 reputation score vote for him, compare to a vote from one user with a 75 reputation score?

I'm afraid you will have to read the entire Reputation Score 101 guide that I linked in the post. It will give you all the answers related to reputation.

To be honest, since yesterday I'm eyeing your post. I've read most of your previous posts and I found it very informative. I'll keep in mind the 4 things and this is really a great tips! Thank you Sir @ilyastarar. :D

Thank you, very helpful

I have been going through your posts for a while now and i must applaud you for taking out time in creating awesome tutorials..This platform needs people like you..You are doing great work👍

Hi ilyas.. Yeah these 4 things actually impact your growth and success on steemit.. Followers increase when you follow others keep good valueable comnents and make a good relation through communication with others.. This is one thing that is valueable comment..In return what you got are the other things like they follow back you.. They come to read and comment you and then your sp increased due to increased earning.. Tge most important thing is now your blog.. If you ll not produce good content your followers ll be disappointed and ll not follow you..
Thanx for good content..
Have a good day

Being new to Steemit, I find this post helpful. With all the info out there, hard to pick through the crap. Thanks for sharing.

That's a really good point you made about the actual content. Guess it's a catch 22...You wanna create content and make thoughtful comments, but at the same time don't wanna come off as spammy.

Comes back to who you choose to follow I guess. Make sure we are following people that we actually want to engage with and create dialogue.

Following everyone is not a good game plan at all lol Learned my lesson in my Twitter days.

Of the four important elements you mentioned for steemit, I hold the highest creating content (both comments and posts). If this is a continuous focus, the others will come in time.

I would have a question for you @ilyastarar, but it involves people we follow and not our followers. How do you handle people you'd want to follow who re-steem a lot? Do you follow them? I avoided it so far, because 1) I'm interested in their own content and 2) too many re-steems clutter my feed, and I can't find the content I'm really interested in.

Thanks!

I generally unfollow people who resteem a lot unless it is a contest they organized. In any case, if you do not want to miss a post from an author but don't want to see all the resteems, you can mute/unfollow him/her on Steemit and get notified via Ginabot whenever that author posts.

Thanks, I appreciate your answer! I didn't know about GINAbot, I'll check it out right away.

Thank you so much for this information. You break it down to where it is easy to understand. I am going straight from making this comment of appreciation to read some of the other linked posts. Thank you and God bless!

Nice work! This is very valuable to newbies like my self. Thanks very much.

Very enlightening, I have learned something new about number of post and it's quality.

super info!

Incredibly helpful!!!! 🔶🔶🎨💭

I am still struggling to understand it all, but the biggest piece I don’t understand is how steem power helps you, it seems like having steem power helps those you upvote not yourself. I’m trying to find authentic connection with other creatives, I use comments to try and initiate conversation, but I am still feeling lost and unseen. Does steem power help get more eyes on your blog somehow? I mean real people not spammy accounts!

thanks for the post! it's been helpful, but yeah it's somewhat difficult to keep growing... Nevertheless I keep putting a lot of effort in the community :D

Thanks for a very interesting post. I can analyze where the weakness of my blog steemit so far based on your writing. I will try to fix my weakness. Once again thanks @ilyastarar. I will resteem your post.

It's either because he's doing Steemit full time or because he is German.

LOL!

Thanks for the post. Lot's of good advice for new and old Steemians alike.

learning from your post.. thanks !!
plz visit my post .. https://steemit.com/steemit/@shanks25/5-awesome-benefits-of-headstand

Good info! Your posts helped me learn much when I first started here.

So how many posts a day is optimal? I usually do 2, it's all I have time for on weekdays, though I could easily do more on the weekends...

Also, what do you think about repeating a post from way back, that didn't get much votes, because hardly anyone saw it? :) Like, six months later or whatever? Would Cheetah bite it?

Nice post
I follow you

I'm having a mini-marathon with your how-to's and your advise for Steem-ing xD.

I paid close attention to the part where you wrote about accounts that promote minnows and bidbots; I was tempted to use them after reading a couple of posts from people who did, but I will follow your advise and grow organically. I agree with you on the fact that people who do that kind of thing are not contributing to anything on the platform nor providing any value.

Keep up the good work and posts!

Wow @ilyastarar!

I just got done reading and digesting your "Reputation Score 101" blog as suggested by @goldendawne of #newbieresteemday!

It was simply written and packed with excellent information! I learned a lot! If it was resteemable, I would have resteemed because we newbies need to get this information! In my comments I told you I was Following you and I was going to review your Blog for more "good stuff"!

I was not disappointed because here I am - "4 Things You Need to Improve Simultaneously for Steemit Success"! I have not had time to go through all of it yet, but what a resource-rich article! Not only did you give your own ideas and guidelines but you included lots of links in your "Newbies Guides"!

I know I will learn much from this one too! I can resteem and I have; I can Upvote, and I have!

I hope I can remember most of what I am learning! Thank you again for your posts!

Thanks for sharing with us..
I have a qustion should we upvote our post comments also or not thanks in advance for your reply..

@ilyastarar i need some information refarding bittrex and coinbase.Can i get your facebook link?

Hi @ilyastarar but how some have enough reputation ask upvote and follow when they give comment other post.

How much is enough reputation that you have mentioned?

Around less than 50 , I think it good reputation for make good content than ask vote, follor and resteem

thank you I will understand your post

Very helpful
Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us
I will be expecting more
Thanks again