You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The meaning of "Service" and the effects of division of Powers

We humans cannot be fed solely by our rationality without any symbolism in the sense of a culturally rich food.

Oh, this sentence means so much to me :) Recent years I feel like I have become too pragmatic, too rational, too "scientifically proven". Suddenly I realized that I have lost my sparkle in life, something was missing and the world looked too gray and somehow dead. Then I realized that I have left somewhere behind my spirituality, my ability to see more of the world, to dive deeper into it. Now, I am trying to get it back, because I realized that I need symbolism and spirituality to feel happy and fulfilled.

I always liked celebrations and rituals. They give you a sense of belonging. I try to create some in my own family and now, as I read your post, maybe I will put some more effort into this.

You gave me a new perspective to serving to others, Erica! I have always liked to do something special for others - invite people over and cook for them, buy an unexpected present or make a surprise. I have never thought of it in the meaning of "serving" to others.

Thank you for your interesting post!

Sort:  

Thank you too for relating to this topic. I was hoping to counterbalance what I feel is dominating my life, too. In particular what you call "scientifically proven". It makes me happy that you also see value in celebrations which give meaning and create a sense of togetherness. "Serving" became such a bad term as it is also an abused one and I find it deserves better:)

Do you have some particular ceremonies or occasions you celebrate in your country?

Oh, yes, we have plenty. Most of them come from pagan times and were later adopted as "Christian". We are losing some of them, but others are still alive. It is interesting how this ancient holidays are more powerful and are celebrated more than national holidays from our modern history. For example, during the spring St George Day is celebrated more vividly compared to the Union Day. In the first case people gather, eat lamb and put oak sheets on their front doors in order to protect their families from diseases and evil forces. In the second case, people just have an extra day off work. The celebrations which date thousands of years back have so much more power and spirituality in them, that they are still celebrated.
Here is an example and a video
Here is another example and a video.
And another example and a video.

I hope you enjoy them! :)

Thank you so much! That is really interesting, I already read the links and will watch the videos later.
I have never heard about that before and that makes it more valuable because there are so many fests out there we don't know of. I like the young men jumping into ice cold water to find the cross.

From what I think several historical traditions do often have a connection not only to the higher spirits but also were supporting the health and strength of bodily powers.

Maybe I will pick some of my own childhood traditions and some other of the European ones to write an article about them. Many are indeed lost and I never see that kind of welcoming a baby - for instance - here in Hamburg as in my hometown, where you hang baby clothes and stuff on a Laundry line so all the neighbors and bypassers can see that a new earthling has come into life. We called that "Let the baby pee" - a more ancient form of the modern "Baby Shower". Also, we had a celebration for women turning 25 years and men turning 30.

I am looking forward to some more exchanges with you!

Oh, that would be a very interesting post! I hope you find the time to write it.

This is what I looooove about systemics. It lets you analyze society, investigate into the meaning of "togetherness" and "individuality". You can dive into traditions and explore what they ment to the individual, to the core family, to the extended family, and to the community. All these "celebrations" had their metaphorical meaning and helped communities share their lives. The process of individualisation, which began during the 19th century as a result of industrialization, separated the core family from the extended family and the community. Thus, some of the traditions died. But the celebrations which survived are extremely powerful, as they give the individual the opportunity to connect to a broader self - to the community and collectivity (I started to sound like a Jungian now :D )
Anyway, I know you are very familiar with all these and you are far more competent at these matters than me, so I will be extremely happy if you write something about traditions - dead or alive! :D

P.S. I hope you find time to watch the videos I sent you. I think they are quite spectacular :)

I am glad I met you here on Steemit, @erh.germany! See you!