The Owl [ Pixel art Process]

owl2.gif

Hey there steemit, @lunaticmoon here, its been a while!
but before I start my post please do give @jonny-clearwater 's pixel art weekly contest a look and maybe even participate in voting coming in a few days.

LINK TO THE CONTEST HERE

This weeks theme is : OWLS

Also another one the reason why as to why I haven't been posting now is that I finally found my first full time job as a labour worker at a factory. So i'll probs be fairly tired to do this as often but one day i'll quit this job for a creative career but for now gotta stay to keep my feet standing.

Without further ado lets head straight to our art making.
So I wanted to go with a sort of hyperlight drifter/ apocalyptic vibe with this, I was feeling sleepy but I was in an art trance so I experiment and do weird things.

owl1.png

So as usual we want that background to be any color but white as its easier to put something on the canvas and be there empty for 30 mins!

pin.png
One thing I reccomend any artist to do, beginner or intermediate is that If you're looking to draw something that you've never drawn before you MUST pull up reference to get the gist of what you're getting into rather than sticking to the soft memory have X object.

owl2.png
So heres a dormant owl just sitting there but I wanna make this guy big so what else is there to do but...

owl3.png
Put some scale reference in it!

owl4.png
Some wispy withering trees.

owl5.png
Now that majority of my artwork is there It's about time to change the background to something more pleasing and fitting to the eye that won't distract you. In my case I made the background dark so you focus on the trees or mostly on the owl for having a different colour!

owl6.png
Some sillhouettes and weird rock details and we're gonna call this done.

Anyone can do pixel art, its just the matter of learning the principles and bending them to your will like any creative medium. YOU can do pixel art as well if you've got even mspaint or photoshop, aseprite whatever as long as theres a pencil tool you can do pixel art. Have a nice day I hope to see you all contribute or vote in the pixel art weekly challenge <3

Canvas: 192 px x 96 px
Program : Photoshop + aseprite
Time taken : 45min

owl2.gif

U5dry8PwHEY127jKoVY1LtGC4B2baPN_1680x8400.png

Cheers @lunaticmoon

Sort:  

The atmosphere is perfect :D
It's so simple, but well planned out!

Thank you, I really love your pixel art as well @kristyglas! ^_^

Aww thank you!

You just got a vote from Sndbox-Alpha! For more information, click here

nice owl :O ! is amazing

Thank you friend~

Mysterious owl! I'm amazed! really like your pixel art

amazed.jpg

I can say the exact same to you about your art as well <3
thank you ^_^