You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Autism (Awareness Month) Spectrum

thank you so much! Definitely the most rewarding job I've ever had. I'd love to get back to it when finances aren't an issue for me. I felt really bad about the fee I charged for my class, and although most families were able to be reimbursed through the state for the cost, they still had to pay up front for it. Kids are expensive, no matter if they have a disability or not. I had a special deal going on with my boss who let me leave work 3 times a week to teach the class and still retain my full salary. When he left the firm to start his own, I lost the ability to leave work and keep my position. The teaching wasn't enough to cover my rent, let alone eating and all that extra stuff, so I had to give it up in order to keep my full time job.