National Chicken Soup For The Soul Day: Share An Inspirational Story

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

When I was a child I had two books from the Chicken Soup For The Soul series. If you've never heard of this series, they are books containing short stories that warm you up inside. Chicken Soup books have heartwarming stories to inspire readers and to help them appreciate good events and people in their lives.

November 12th is National Chicken Soup For The Soul Day and it was formed to recognize the little moments in life that make you happy and close to the people you love. On this day people should share stories about life events that impacted them and made them feel loved, changed in a positive way, or made them feel inspired.

IMG_0638.JPG

My Copy of Chicken Soup For The Mother and Daughter's Soul

Chicken Soup For The Mother and Daughter's Soul

This is the only Chicken Soup For The Soup book I still have and I enjoy reading it from time to time because the stories are incredibly enjoyable. This book, like most books in the series, contains close to 100 short stories about mothers and daughters. The stories contain themes of love, acceptance, sadness, joy, and more as mothers and their daughters share stories about emotional moments in their lives.

Books like the Chicken Soup series are easy to read and would be great books for people of all ages to read. They produce books for specific age groups like young children and teenagers. They also produce books attractive for a wider variety of readers with no age groups listed in their titles.

Not all readers enjoy long novels or complex stories. There are some readers who prefer it short and sweet which makes the Chicken Soup series a perfect fit.

IMG_0639.jpg

Back cover of my copy.

I'll Share A Warm and Fuzzy Moment To Kick Off A Day For Sharing Stories

The Teacher With A Strange Way of Showing He Cared

In high school I had one teacher who I respected more than any teacher. Dr. Honeycutt was a short, skinny man who wore round glasses and had a bald head. He was a very serious man. No student saw him smile and he always acted stern. He was very colorful and could say something in his grumpy, serious manner but have it sound hilarious.

He was in the army in his younger years and traveled all over the world. I remember him dedicating one class before winter break to telling us stories about how he could order a beer in over 30 languages. He proceeded to teach us how to order a beer in French, Spanish, German, and more.

I was a very quiet student and extremely shy. Dr. Honeycutt was one of the few teachers to really notice me and encourage me to succeed. He had his own unique way of being encouraging...by trying to stare me down!

What I mean is when Dr. Honeycutt would see me in the hallway he'd always stop me and ask me if I was making all A's. If I told him I wasn't he would squint his eyes like he was angry and look disappointed. He wasn't really angry though and I could always see a gleam of amusement because he knew I was timid. He would stare at me, point one finger at me, and say loudly that I needed to do better. That was it. That's all he did and we both went on our ways.

I don't know why I cared what he thought but somehow his attention made me feel like I needed to make all A's. After encounters with him I would try harder. I hated the day he asked me if I was making all A's and I had to tell him I made that D in geometry (horrible subject for me that math). He just shook his head and pointed that finger at me and said I need to make all A's.

When you are shy sometimes it's easy to be invisible to people. Dr. Honeycutt noticed me and realized I was smart. I didn't often get praise but he made sure to show me he was happy to hear when I did get all A's. The times I wasn't doing as well he knew the right thing to do to motivate me. All I needed was a little attention and recognition to want to try. A grumpy, serious man knew that and showed me he cared by using his unique personality to give me the push to do well in school that I needed.

chicken-2030706_640.jpg

photo credit pixabay.

Try Some Chicken Soup!

Short and happy stories, like the ones in the Chicken Soup series will bring you feelings of happiness by reading the tales of others. Just like the effect of eating real chicken soup, one taste of these books will spread a warm feeling through your mind and through your heart.

Do you have any warm and fuzzy stories to share to celebrate Chicken Soup Day? Write a post and share a link in my comments. Or leave a comment sharing your story.


Banner.png

Sort:  

Some books are over time ;)

Yes they are! Thanks for commenting.

nice post..upvote my post