Arithmetic Trick: Squaring Various Numbers End with 5

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Hi all steemian friends, on this occasion, I would like to share another interesting basic trick of arithmetic, especially for students who want to master arithmetic. This trick is named as Squaring Various Numbers End with 5.


Image Source


One of the activities that you enjoy is swimming. One day you can break your old record of 25 laps. If once the rotation is 25 meters, how many meters distance have you traveled? To know the answer, we have to do a 25 x 25 multiplication.


Here's the ways!

You can use this trick for numerical calculations like 55 x 55, 85 x 85, and 25 x 25 (all numbers are squares ending in 5). The trick to multiply it, the number of tens on your left hand (number 2 on the question of swimming pool above) multiply by the numbers afterward (number 3). Then, in the right hand, there is always a number 25. So put this number 25 after the result of the multiplication. Well, now let's find how many meters distance you have traveled?



Let's try with another example!



Always remember! The number on your right hand is always 25 and it is easy to remember because 5 x 5 equals 25 (and 5 is the unit number on this count).


Let's practice again!


This is all about my explanation for this basic arithmetic trick, follow my post to get other arithmetic tricks, that I will explain in my next post. Hopefully, this article useful for me personally and for you all.



Thanks for visiting my blog
best regards @saimdang


Sort:  

I have a post on this also, plus a little bit more. Mine also includes multiplying when the numbers are not the same. Here is the first one, it's like what you have here: https://steemit.com/education/@johnwjr7/fun-with-5-s-1 - Please check out @johnwjr7 to see the other, a little more advanced, methods I have on multiplying with 5's.

Nice. Thanks for visiting my post @johnwjr7

You are welcome @mdo. Really appreciate your kindness in supporting my post.