@steemiteducation weekly homework: An ideal class for optimal teaching and learning



Teaching a classroom of 50 learners at once would make any teacher see a slight better classroom of lesser learners as an ideal situation. It is for this reason that I really needed to apply myself extra in order to do this week's @steemiteducation homework. I waited until the final hour because it was extremely difficult to see beyond the scope of my current situation. But I've finally figured it out.

My ideal classroom

Bigger is better

First and far most, the size of the classroom has to be BIG. I am talking about enough space to sprint from one to another at full speed. With such a large classroom, my learners and I can come up with resources needed for the class. Our own little library with a number of books covering all their subjects would be fantastic. Doing homework, assignments, research and projects would become a breeze.
source

Furniture is the vanquishes boredom

Children seem to enjoy playing with and on interesting furniture like spinning office chairs. Having such chairs in my class would add an element of fun and excitement. The chairs will be accompanied by smart desks. A smart desk is a desk that allows a person to work sitting down and standing up. Some can even tell you when it's time to stand up and when to sit down. These desk are adjustable to accommodate the height of the user. They are large enough to accommodate the learners' books, computers and whatever else gets their creative juices flowing. This brings me to my next ideal classroom must have.

Technology and the internet are king!

With such beautiful chairs and desks perfectly suited for a large open area, some gadgets are needed. My classroom will have smart state of the art tablets and laptops with unlimited internet connection. A variety of education games will be installed and most of the learning will take place utilising such resources. Imagine a child learning through playing interactive, exciting and challenging games. Mathematics and science challenges would be a thing of the past.

Chalkboards are extremely outdated but are still widely used in most parts of the world. For my ideal class, an interactive whiteboard would tie the entire room together perfectly. Such a board acts as a touchscreen and all information needed for lessons can be uploaded into the board. No more mess writing with chalk sticks or markers.

Painting a rainbow across the sky

When it comes to decorating the class with paint, charts, posters and so on, I'll delegate that to the artists themselves, the students. Learners are quite gifted artists because they have not yet developed a self-restrictive mindset that adults have. This allows them to be free and creative thinkers. Their creations are things of beauty. Plus allowing them to be part of the decorating of the class will give them a sense of pride in the work they have done. The classroom will truly be theirs. A bonus is they'll always keep it clean.

World class building

The building will have an automatic air-conditioner. This AC will be able to adjust the temperature of the room based on data gathered by its sensors. If it's hot, it will cool the room down; if it's cold, it will warms thee room up. Automated lights, doors and windows is a must. Everything should open and close by itself.

Conclussion

This homework has taken me back to my younger schooling days when I felt that the world was my playground. I had lots of fun writing this post.
So to summarise, I would love a classroom that resembles a well-off office building with the latest in technological advances. My learners will be exposed a cooperate world environment and learn from an early age how to thrive in such a situation.
source


Sort:  

What a great classroom you have created! I can see students actively participating and learning. We need to break away from the belief that students need to sit quietly at their desks to learn. Confining students to uncomfortable chairs and desks is not does nothing to help engage the students. Many squirm and are distracted trying to get comfortable. Kids need to move!

EXACTLY. I think this forms part of the reason why kids perform better in preschool compared to in school. In preschool they are allowed to explore and to be kids, freely roaming and learning. But in school everything is rigid, stiff, non-stimulating to their young hungry minds.

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.