You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working As A Teacher

Nice post, I have been retired from teaching for two years now. I worked with special needs children for over 30 years and loved every minute of it. I taught Middle School children that were classified Emotionally Disturbed. Almost every student I taught came from a household where there was only one parent. Being a father of four children I know first hand the work that was required by both my wife and me to raise them.
These children were starting life out behind he 8 ball. Their social skills were very often diminished. This was an area that had to be concentrated on before any formal educating could ensue. On trait that I believe is most important for all teachers to possess is that of being compassionate. There was a quote that I always had hung in my class and on our Bulliten board out side of our class. " Kids don't care how much you know, until they know how much you care." This quote was not displayed for the students, but rather for my collegues!!

Sort:  

Good quote! and it's true. Sometimes we've seen how the teacher figure is perceived as a distance presence, where students only have to strive to match the teacher's intellect. It requires much more to establish a fruitful connection.