How do you as a teacher handle students with disabilities? [Homework]

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Children with disabilities.

source

This is a question that makes me think and reflect. Children with disabilities are children who are very eager to learn, and who also have feelings, these children have an incredible will power that surprises me, I have heard of cases of special children who have managed to perform extraordinary activities even in the midst of their conditions.

Before I talk to you about how I treat children with disabilities I want to show you some of these cases:

Nick Vujicic

He is a preacher, and a motivational speaker, he is the source of inspiration for many. He has overcome different challenges, and although he lacks his limbs, he is able to answer calls and use computers.

source

Stephen Hawking

We all know Stephen was a world-renowned scientist, who left an impressive educational mark, receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom, and leaving books that made him an extraordinary figure. His disability was no impediment to achieving these impressive acts.

source


Ludwig van Beethoven

In the midst of his deafness he managed to win the title as the best and greatest composer in musical history. He composed impressive musical works. IMPRESSIVE.

source

Hellen Keller, Vincent Van Gogh, and Frida Kahlo. Surely these names are familiar to you because they were people with disabilities who left their mark on the world. May these cases help us and serve as inspiration and motivation to provide the best treatment to these children and know that they can also achieve as far as a regular child.

It would be wonderful if you had the privilege of one of our children leaving his mark on the world.


How do I treat children with disabilities?

As teachers we must be fully trained to apply the necessary strategies to develop the physical, intellectual, and emotional capacities of children with disabilities.
Children with disabilities need specialized and individual attention where they are provided with the necessary tools to help their physical and intellectual development. However, this does not mean that these children cannot be included in the activities that take place in the daily activities of the classroom.

  • I teach regular children to treat children with disabilities with respect and consideration, and ask that they be taken into account for games and conversations.

    source

  • I have had to work with children with disabilities, and I was doing his special work routine, but I also involved him in the other children's regular activities. This is one way to help consolidate new knowledge.
  • When some of the children achieve a goal in class, I usually stop them in the middle of the classroom to be applauded and congratulated aloud by their friends, then they all stand up one by one and give them a hug.

  • The phrase "I can't" , "I don't know", doesn't exist in my children's vocabulary, words have power, so I teach them that these phrases cause them not to learn anything. I encourage them to believe in themselves, that they can achieve anything they want, as long as they do so with great enthusiasm.

  • I always encourage her self-esteem by using positive phrases: "How smart you are", "I knew you could do it", "Keep it up", "Well done". These phrases make a positive impact on children with or without disabilities, leading them to be persevering in what they want to achieve.

  • The children love this part, every day I choose a child to "help" and "take care" of their friend with a disability.

Giving lots of love, kisses and hugs is my main way of treating children with disabilities, showing them how important they are to me and how much I love them.

From the extraordinary examples we can conclude that children with disabilities have a lot to give and can become extraordinary people who can give a lot to society, it depends on our way of treating them to develop well.

The next time you feel discouraged about achieving your goals, remember these people - their disability was no impediment to getting what they wanted.


Source of information:

source

For a better education I support @steemiteducation and @edu-venezuela.

Until the next opportunity teacher Yessica Cedeño.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!