How To Upvote, Power-up by Learning how to use Your Rewards Wisely and Curation Basic Information

in #steemitguide6 years ago (edited)

Join Steemit.com wherein you are paid when you receive a "Like"

Most of the newbies here in Steemit has an idea that once they join the site and get the "like" that they will receive has a monetary value.
I myself don't have the slightest idea when I started so I began my research further and luckily I was enlightened on some of the basic information about the said reward to avoid confusion let's now change the term "like" to "upvote"

Also here's a short outline on what are the things that I will be sharing on this guide.



Upvoting Basics

First things first, let's say that today is your first day here in steemit and you want to ***"upvote"*** a post to see that button you will need to click this green button.


If you are just browsing through your feed this can be found easily near the name of the person who authored the blog post.


I will be using my own account because, I haven't ask any permission from someone if I can use theirs.

By clicking that green button, you are already upvoting the post, that means you are giving a monetary reward to the person who authored the article.


There is a change in the amount already because I upvoted my post.
I seldom upvote my post but for this tutorial I need to do so.
h

But if you will be reading the blog post then you can find the upvote button at the bottom part of the article, still near the name of the author.


Same information given on the outside post 19 is the number of people who upvoted the post

You can get the list by clicking the reverse pyramid logo near the number 19 of people who upvoted your post. Then the dollar sign that you are seeing $22.61 that is the amount that I am expecting to receive in the next few hours as I write this post.









In a nutshell, IDEALLY anything that will be authored and will get a upvote an amount of money will be distributed to the person who created the said post.



Steem Power

I did stress out the word IDEALLY on the upvote part because that is really important. A new member which has a few Steem Power of 15 can only give a maximum of $0.01 per upvote. If his/her voting power is at 100%



But for me that is quite old on this site I have 323 Steem Power or SP the maximum amount of upvote that I can give per post is $0.15.




I do not know the formula on why the amount that I can give is around that much but one thing is for sure the higher your Steem Power/SP the higher amount you can give to your upvote.

Now your next question will be how will I get more Steem power?


Source

No worries I have you covered, here are some information on how you can get more Steem/ Steem Power

  • You can get Steem power by earning it through your post.

Each time that you will be receiving your reward if you chose 100 "Power-Up" on the editor screen all earned money will be converted into Steem. Then if you will be doing the 50-50 Rewards, 50 % will be converted to Steem and then the other one will be converted into Steem Dollars.

I wrote a discussion about that you can check it here

  • If you chose the 50-50 rewards you can buy Steem in the internal market here in Steemit. To access it you can simply go to Wallet and then on the Steem Dollars Tab you have a drop down then click Market.


This is what the internal market looks like this is where you can buy Steem and even exchange it for Steem Dollars

Before it is advisable to do 100% Power-up in your post so that you will be getting Steem. But for me personally I do prefer having it on 50-50 and this is the reason why.

Difference of 100% Power-up and 50-50 for the Rewards.

Let's use this image as an example:

I earned $1.64 on that post, I did not receive it in full. I only got $1.24 because approximately 25% went to thecurators.( the people who upvoted your post)

Let's say that I chose 100% Power-Up:

That $1.24 will be converted into Steem and the amount of Steem that you will get will depend on how much the value of Steem in terms of U.S. Dollars this time let's assume that the value of 1 Steem is 6 USD. Therefore I will receive 0.206 Steem directly to my account.

However, if you will choose the 50-50 Rewards:

50% will go to Steem which is $0.62 USD will go directly to Steem and then the other $0.62 will go to Steem Dollars. Now here's the thing If the value of Steem is still $6 you will get 0.103 Steem immediately and then since the other $0.62 will be converted into Steem Dollars their value will be different.

Let's assume that 1 Steem Dollar is equals to $6.50 so therefore you will have in total of $4.03 and once you sell your Steem Dollar to the internal market you will have 0.67 Steem available. If this is kinda confusing here's a small visualization.

We used the same amount of reward which is $1.24 but the Steem Power Received is different

  • Earn Steem through Curation Reward. As I have discussed above, a portion of earnings of the author will go to the curators and they will be sharing the 25% reward pool automatically it will be converted into Steem hence you will only receive Steem for the curation rewards. No Steem Dollar at all! Please note that not all who upvoted the post will get the curation reward. Later I will discuss it in detail on why.
  • Lastly, you can buy Steem to exchangers like blocktrades.us, bittrex and even other people who are already in Steemit using your money or bitcoin.

But if you have no money to buy something from exchangers you can still work on your blog and keep posting and hoard the earnings because for sure you will have some available real soon



Curation

As we now know, up to 25% of the earnings from the post will go to the curators but not who upvoted the post will get the rewards and this will now be discussed.

Here are some of the factors that you need to consider with regards to the curation process.

  • The number of Votes lodged on the blog post, as per the information that I read from Curation rewards explained in great detaila by @calamus056 as per the information given the first 5 receive most of the rewards on the curation. But if you think that you can just go ahead and visit the newly created works you will be disheartened because there are other rules given.

  • If in "One More Chance" Movie we have 3-month rule, here in Steemit we have the 30 minutes rule.

There is a penalty if the post got voted early an example is if the post received a vote at 0 mins after it was created then 100% is the penalty to the curator, it means that no reward will be given to him. This penalty is decreasing until it reaches the 0% penalty on the 30th minute.

  • Aside from that you will need to also consider your Voting Power.

If you are just starting and your Steem Power is less than 500 each upvote that you will cast to a blog post will consume 2% of your voting power. This is a good feature to avoid people from upvoting folks and this is not facebook that has unlimited likes. You are giving a portion of the reward to the person whom you are upvoting in Steemit. But still there is hope, it replenishes 20% of your used voting power per day 😎

However, there is a feature in busy.org wherein even though that you do not have the 500 Steem Power yet you can still reduce the voting power and lessen the reward that you will be giving this can be found in the settings tab.


You just need to click the enable slider tab and you are all set.


You will be able to know also how much is the reward that you going to give to the person

  • Finally is the Steem Power, the steem power will make the reward high if the blog post was upvoted by the whales or even dolphins hence they play a huge factor on the pie sharing of the rewards. The higher the amount of the post the better for the people who already positioned themselves first on the blog post.

With regards to the strategy, you will really need to consider that. By searching a good post that you think will trend is really something that you need to watch for. So if you believe that the post will be trending and will reach a sky rocket amount and there is no one upvoting that post yet or appreciating it, you can go ahead and upvote it. Plus to maximize the exposure because you believe that it will be a hit and your followers will like it hit the resteem button too.

Some say 20 minutes is optimum however, here's the thing that you will need to consider if you will do that if you will be waiting for 20 mins like around you will only be penalized by 25% and if you are the first one to upvote the post you will have a bigger amount that will receive compare to others. All of the rewards in curation is on Steem and not Steem Dollar.

Also, there is a tool created by one of the witness @jesta that you might want to consider using it is https://steemstats.com/#!/

You just need to enter your user id and you can monitor your possible curation rewards. Also, it will how much percent that you have in the reward pool for that particular post










The 14.633% is your share to the reward curation and the 0.004 SP is the expected steem power that you will receive

Also as per the information YOU ARE ONLY REWARDED IN THE FIRST 12 HOURS OF THE POST



I would like to also add some factors that may affect the curation rewards:


Downvoting/Flagging the content:

Once the blog post received a downvote or flag. The reward pool is lessened and if there is none available already in the blog post, sad to say but there will be no curation reward too.

Bid Bots:
Definitely, if you will be using a bidbot it can boost the earnings of the post. Especially if it will win the round of voting. But please make sure that the bots that you will be using are compliant with @grumpycat because we do not want to have issues of not getting a reward at all for the curation.

Un-voting Post:
By removing the vote on the post definitely, you are also removing the reward that is supposed to be shared on the pool. For me, if I accidentally upvoted the post I will not remove it anymore because it will be a waste already of voting power. That voting power will not return even if you removed it already.

Upvoting your Post:
Some people will think that upvoting your post is kinda selfish because you are not distributing the reward for me at least you upvote 1 post that you made for yourself. Somehow it is a way that you are saying to yourself good job for today! Here's your reward! Well, honestly it will be depending on yourself if you want to do it or not. 😉
😉



Upvoting is really easy and it will just take a few seconds of your time (Will take minutes if your internet is super slow like in our country it is loading forever) But as you give your precious upvote now by learning those factors you will be able to distinguish whether if upvoting it will have a good return in your end. I myself is guilty on that when I was starting. I just upvoted folks whom I ran into and at the end I don't have any voting power and the cents that I am able to give is none. Seems like I am just adding some #'s on that post but no value. Plus the usage of 100% Power-up that can definitely help you out on increasing your Steem Power the too.

I do hope that I was able to give you some helpful information about it and see you again on my next tutorial!



This post will not be possible without the following key materials and reference used:

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@steempowerwhale/how-to-upvote-make-money-and-avoid-costly-mistakes-quick-and-easy-help-for-noobs

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@liberosist/mind-your-votes-an-investigation-and-guide-to-maximizing-your-curation-rewards

https://steemit.com/steem/@kevinwong/why-should-you-consider-accumulating-steem-power

https://steemit.com/steemit/@munchmunch/steemit-post-age-votes-and-rewards-should-not-be-shown-in-the-first-12-hours

https://steemit.com/steemit/@eroche/the-economics-of-upvoting-your-own-post



All images used are screenshots from my computer. Also, this guide can serve as a reference to some who are having trouble on understanding the following ideas on a newbie level. If you find that it is helpful kindly resteem this post so that it can reach other folks. If there are some revisions or you have some information that you want to add to it simply leave a comment.

I am here to guide you and help you on your journey here on steemit. I can go ahead and review your profile if you ask me to.



DQmSeLb1YWa5LzPq2XpbcbGciGtfdrZCjGmscgqWaXo6gef.png

I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us!

Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link26782208_1896551410355606_2089920575_o.png

Sort:  

This will really be a great help to newbies! Keep it up. I am happy to also see the other side of @tpkidkai. Your blogging skills coupled with your passion to help the community! Keep Steeming! :)

Thanks @leahlei that is our goal here. To be able to help our newbies who are starting on their steemit journey. I am so glad that you also liked it keep on steeming too. My mind is somehow occupied this time hence I am not able to write the weekly stories missing it already.

Yehey! Now another post to share to potential steemians who is just about to join the platform. Thank you for making our lives easier haha. Good job.

It will be my outmost pleasure if we can help others grow here. As long as I am able to do it why not :)
Just keep on sharing and steeming and for sure all of us will be whales successful in the future.

Indeed an informative post, Thank you.

Awesome guide as always Mentor TPkidkai! I hope that the newbies can understand it better.

Yes. I do hope that I was able to share some information to them and also help them reach their steemit goal the fastest way possible. By mastering curation definitely it can help us on our 1000 SP journey.

Thanks for this, hirap ko pa rin intindihin haha. Basta enjoy muna mahaba haba pa ang journey sa steemit bago maging hassler tulad nio haha. I enjoy reading your posts, halos lahat napaka informTive. Thanks for this and more posts from you to learn unto. Gracias!!!

Don't worry @livsky before I was able to get a full grasp on what is happening it took me some time and this post was created on the time that I think I am really smart hahaha. That is why there's data everywhere.

Haha😂😂😂... well, hindi ako papalag anjan naman evidence. Smart boi!!!😀😀😀

Haha thanks @livsky

Bitte!!!

help for beginners

WOW! YOU ARE A GENIUS! I'M IMPRESSED..
😚

Thanks @cinderz if you have some questions you can just drop a message to me and the other folks in @steemitfamilyph :)

wow! thank you for this informative blog. thank you for sharing to others what you know @tpkidkai

Definitely @queenlouise07 it will always be my pleasure to help you out succeed on this journey.

Thanks for sharing @tpkidkai :) very helpful po lalo sa newbies like me.

You are most welcome @alyciakiss glad that I am able to help.

Thanks for sharing @tpikidkai ..this is a great help for newbies and oldies(?) having a hard time understanding the platform.

Hahha indeed it is hard to understand it at first. I myself had to write everything in a piece of paper before I was able to get a grasp of everything.

I'm learning a lot from your posts Mentor TPkidkai!. Thank you for sharing all of this to us. God bless

You are most welcome @titanthirdy happy to help you folks on this journey 😂

ang galing! very helpful info!

Hehe thanks @zeppelin this can be used by all who are having a problem with curation and stuff. I am missing Berto pero I need to do this first haha. Hopefully by next week I can write another series of story na.

haha ang Pagbabalik ng Alamat

Very informative. Thanks man! Resteemed!

Thanks for the resteem! That is super helpful on reaching other steemians be aware of the process who are relatively new. If you have questions or need a clarification on something you can just reach out to me or even the @steemitfamilyph group chat :)

Whoa. So much info. Need to read up. Ganun pala yun! Thank you so much for sharing.

Yeah happy to help! You are most welcome @guri-gure for sure byoy will learn something from this post.

wow! keep ko to bro. big help sa akin. thanks for sharing.

Thanks man! You are most welcome. If may tanong ka let me know.