Postmortem of my Game 'QWOP-NOE' - SteemitJam #2

in #steemitjam6 years ago (edited)

My Story

I have already talked briefly about my experience with this jam in my submission post, but I feel like going more in-depth anyways!
I was really excited when I heard of SteemitJam because I wanted to participate in a gamejam for quite a long time but never actually managed to do so. Steemit gave me new motivation in this regard. So I participated. I started early in the morning (about 5 hours after the jam started) with finding an idea. At first I didn't like the theme. It felt way too broad and unspecific. I did however know relatively quickly that I wanted to do something about the depths of the ocean. I wanted it to be some kind of exploration-game, where you'd dive deep with your submarine and just look at different animals at different depths.

(I watched this video a few days previously - maybe that's why)


But I just couldn't find simple gameplay ideas that would support this. So I made the game about agility and the exploration part more of a side-thing. Unfortunatly there wasn't too much time to make a large number of different animals, so I settled for 3 which would all support the gameplay. They are all wateranimals with lungs, so it would make at least some sense that they produce airbubbles. For the main mechanic I 'borrowed' a proven-to-be-fun mechanic (QWOP movement) and adjusted it for my cause. QWOP-NOE was born.

What I will do differently in the future

I'm happy to say that I learned a lot out of this GameJam. The experience itself, @poet's feedback and a few playtest by friends gave me enough impulse to hopefully be making better games in the future. Specifically the consistency of the playing experience and UI-design are things I will be taking more into account. The game also lacks positive feedback for the player which makes the fun only last for a few minutes. But thats mainly due to the nature of a gamejam. There's just not much time for upgrades, loot-boxes or achievements...

A big thank you to @Loomy for hosting such a great event. Can't wait for the next one!

Sort:  

I'm happy you are eager for the next edition of SteemitJam ! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Seschoscho from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @seschoscho! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @seschoscho! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @seschoscho! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!