Steemit photo challenge #44 -Spooky optical illusion in Radiology!

Hello people!

I would like to share with you an MRI image which I came across during my radiology residency!

The below image on the left is a coronal T2 weighted MRI image of a middle aged male through the mid pelvis showing pelvic bones, head of both femurs, lower limb muscles, seminal vescicles and sections of rectum. If you look closely you can see kind of a well dressed zombie wearing a suit and tie, almost like skeleton of count Dracula within the image which I cropped out and highlighted on the right. 

This was a scary surprise that I found during MRI reporting.

Just found it lying on my laptop, I hope this is not too graphic for the audience here! Image is properly anonymized for privacy. 

Sort:  

I love the art and I love Halloween.

If it is an anterior posterior projection and you were to oblique it to the left you could center the eyes.

Haha, true!....It is a diagnostic MRI image taken in coronal plane. Taking an oblique view would require acquisition in that particular plane. Since it was not a 3D sequence, oblique reconstruction was not possible. The zombie was spotted after the patient was sent. It wouldn't have been fair to call him back for sake of art!

Congratulations @drkewalmd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!