Power of genetics

in #steemitphotochallenge6 years ago (edited)

I walked across the veld one good day and noticed a field decorated by beautiful flowers, which are just simple and natural. They are scented but not as sweet as roses, nevertheless, the variety of colours of their petals escalate the beauty they impose. I decided to pluck this few for demonstration of different colours.
IMG_20180407_061808.jpg

The surprising aspect is how the colours differ from one flower to another. The original colours in my view are these two (white and purple).IMG_20180407_061458.jpg
IMG_20180407_061543.jpg

The two cross during pollination to form other colours that range in between the two. With closer inspection the flowers differ from each other, from brighter petals to darker petals.

In my perspective, the F1 generation for this crossing would be perfectly white, or Purple. Depending of the dominant gene in the parent flowers.
IMG_20180411_020630.jpg
Then the F2 generation would be a mixture of colours, white, purple and maybe pink, also depending on the dominance and recessiveness of the initial parents.IMG_20180411_020644.jpg

It is also surprising that flowers of different colours can be found on the same plant and it says that the plant has all the genes within itself. And I think the plants are more than F50 generation because they have existed for over 50 years and as a result, the crossings have been done repeatedly, causing a wider range of color variations.
IMG_20180407_061726.jpgIMG_20180407_061713.jpgIMG_20180407_061625.jpg
The flowers in the pictures above show a range of varying purple. The topmost is more purple, darker than the others. The two in between are within the range but they are different as well. The one on the left is lighter than the one on the right.
The flowers on the bottom are much brighter compared to others in the picture. The colour intensity seems to have been neutralised, (in lame man's language).

The following group is from white dominance.
IMG_20180407_061611.jpg
IMG_20180407_061520.jpg
IMG_20180407_061648.jpg
The one on top in this gallery is completely pink. With the colour white and red evenly blended to pink. The two below it are white, with what I could call bleached purple/pink. The petals do not look solid and look as though they are somehow transparent, however, they are opaque.
The one below is white with patches of purple in the petals. The back of the flower is as shown below:IMG_20180407_061737.jpg It has patches of purple on the white petals, and this is not the case with all other flowers in this gallery.

Which flowers in these pictures are your favourite?

Sort:  

Nice photography @motai. I like the way you composed each colorful picture.

I do not have a lot of SP and my voting power is not 100%.

I hope you do not mind me using a Bidbot to upvote your post. And to help your post get a little more exposure I will resteem your post too.

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

I don't mind. My post is original and I tried to do it right. I believe it deserves to be promoted, so please do

I like the two rich purple flowers in the 3rd photo the best; the color is very rich indeed. Your 1st photo with all the colors together is quite lovely with its wide variance from white to deep purple. What an amazing flower species; thank you for including a brief genetics summary as well.

Its the wonders of nature. I did not mention that these flowers are just natural and indigenous. Thanks for wonderful comment.

Good observation, maybe plants with different colors got mixture with the time.

Yeah, its a wonder what nature can do

buenas noches que buen post

I don't understand the language but thanks for the comment, it adds value to my post

Release the Kraken! You got a 90.91% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @etcmike!