SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry Nature Macro - garden spider

This beauty is a Common Garden Orb Web Spider (Argiope Australis) which has caught a beetle in its web. It is a large spider and I took three different views to do justice to this spider. The thick zig-zag line in the web is a trademark of Orb Web spiders. This particular spider is quite pale colored, it may have moulted recently and was sitting face-down in its web as depicted.
garden orb spider vertical.jpg

garden orb ventral.jpg

garden orb web.jpg

All pictures taken with my Samsung smartphone. All hand-held shots, no tripods involved

Sort:  

Wow.. It is really very beautiful and big. I have never seen so big spider. Cool pictures.

Africa is full of large spiders ;)

Probably with many more interesting animals also :)

I am a fan of all the small creatures. The heat makes everything grow big

If your a fan of macro spiders and bugs i have just started to put my pics up here. Heres one of my favoritesOIP00002.jpg

I love macro photography too. But often I love to experiment and to try different things when I shot :)

Oh my gosh this spider looks creepy! There is no way I could have got this close to photograph this one!

They are completely harmless

Even so!!

I've always been fascinated by creepy-crawlies and they don't scare me

Well thats good! They are fascinating!

Just goes to show that you do not have to own a lot of expensive gear to make a good photo.
Those pictures are good - congratulations!

Thank you. You do need a steady hand, though

Dang! That is one interesting looking spider 🕷 nice capture

Thanks!

What the!?!? That is scary! You're very brave to go that close to take photos of it!
I've never seen anything like it before. It looks like a spider out of a fantasy movie.

Most inspiration for fantasy forms comes from the world of nature. It's not aggressive and won't harm me in any way. These spiders are not venomous for humans

Genuinely speaking, spiders throws creepy effect but, if you closely watch these pictures you will get to know that every creature is created in an unique way and with unique design and this whole world contains the amazing art. Thanks for sharing.

Stay Blessed.

This is a great picture, thanks to the photographer, to take pictures of such a beautiful spider ...

Oh ohh, it's very cute. I love insects. Some are tender and others very beautiful, but with their degree of danger. This spider is a great example.
Excellent picture.
Congratulations @nikv.

Absolutely amazed! You are an amazing photographer and more importantly a great nature loving human being.
Keep contributing to the steemit community the same way.
Thank you for all your beautiful post!
Courtesy @zahid8zait