SteemitPhotoChallenge #41 – Landscapes II – Entry 3 Mystical Fairy Chimney

Been a fantastic array of landscape photos - a lot of mountain edges, rocks and sea to sun rises and sun sets so wanted to share something different. Why not some snow!

Ranked among the top ten surreal and natural landscapes and among the most beautiful in the world, Cappadocia in Turkey was on my global list of destinations to visit. So three months ago I finally made it to Cappadocia. Goreme National Park and the Rock Sites of Cappadocia, is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Natural Erosion
The phantasmagorical landscape of the Göreme National Park in Cappadocia, is a product of natural phenomena. Volcanic eruptions and erosion have contributed to the formation of the fairy-tale-like rock cones, pillars and mushrooms stretching up to 40 metres high. About 30 million years ago, in what is now central Turkey, volcanoes spewed ash over the landscape. Eventually, the ash solidified into rock, called tuff, tens of meters thick.

Over the millions of years wind and water eroded the tuff into odd shapes, including spires, cones. Only these harder elements were left behind to form the ‘fairy chimneys’ that can be seen today, stretching as far as 130 feet into the sky.

Perhaps not necessarily the first thing we probably think of when we see them ?….lol….another forum perhaps…

DSC_1603.JPG

The temperature in Cappadocia was minus 15 C, when I was there. Awfully cold but the snow was magnificiant and certainly added to the charm and uniqueness of the landscape. The blueness of the sky makes a sharp contrast to the crisp white snow. A visit in snow makes for better photos but wrap up warm! I took the photos with my Nikon D5000.

I had to throw this in as …
Yes I was frightfully cold and don’t look too happy do I ?!

DSC_1599.JPG
the pain I go through to obtain these photographs!!!

Please up vote, re-steem and follow me if you enjoy.

Sort:  

They look like squared penises to me. Quite beautiful

Exactly - me too..haha

https://steemit.com/travel/@readmore/travel-cappadocia-erosion-perfection
lol what are the odds of this, I literally posted 2 minutes before you about cappadocia :D Nice picture.

No way good job.

Congratulations @sunildkavuri! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Beautiful place, the area looks very cold, @sunildkavuri thank for upvote my post