STEEMIT SANDWICH CONTEST #39 @Jaybird : ODE TO SPRING SANDWICH, A HEATHY SNACK CELEBRATING THE BEST OF SPRINGTIME

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)


 

WHEN I THINK OF SPRINGTIME, I SEE  THE COLOUR GREEN, I FEEL THE SUNSHINE AND SMELL THE SCENT OF FLOWERS IN THE AIR....OHH, HOW POETIC... WELL, I ALSO SEE A LOAD OF WORK IN THE GARDEN, SPRINGTIME FATIGUE AND ALERGIES.... IT`S ALL ABOUT PERSPECTIVE. LUCKILY I LOVE SPRING!!!

...SINCE MY GARDEN IS GOING NUTS, I THOUGHT I'D GO PICK A FEW FRESH INGREDIENTS....AND THAT's HOW THIS SANDWICH CAME ABOUT. 

....the source of today's veggies, well except the avo :) ....

 

THE BREAD: rye flour, wheat flour, mixed seeds, yeast, salt, water. 

 

It's an unusual type of  bread but very simple to make. I chose it because it has a nice sweet flavour and is dense enough to hold the topping.

THE SPREAD: ricotta (creamy, Italian fresh cheese), garlic, chives, salt and pepper. Ricotta is perfect for this sandwich-sweet and mild enough to compliment and not overpower the delicate spring veggies.

 

 

THE  TOPPING: avocado (I know, I know, avo roses are so last year, but I still like them :)), fresh peas, steamed  asparagus, grilled chicken, and shoots: pea shoots (taste just like peas, posh restaurants pay a fortune for them), garden cress, beetroot shoots, arugula shoots, flowering chives. 

Season the ingredients well with salt, pepper, lemon juice and good extra vergine olive oil. You don't need anything else.....Spring on a plate...Delicious....

Sort:  

that avocado looks sooooooooooooooooooo gooooooooood

Hahaha, thank you!!!

luckily i got some at home otherwise i'd be bummed out-thanks so much for your great art

Rye flour great choice just like the avocado, I like the way you put the avocado looks like a cream

Now that I look at it closely, it actually does look like cream :) :)i'm glad you like the combo!

So it is when I first saw it that I thought it was an avocado cream that looks very good, success in the contest that you do it very well

thank you for the kind words! I wish you all the best too!!!!

Thank you very much, the competition is getting stronger and more interesting

What a beautiful spring sandwich @homecook! Love the avocado roses and the homebaked bread looks great!

Thank you very much @lizelle!!!

Wow, what an incredibly beautiful piece you've created. Artisan to the max!

And yes, spring = green for sure!

Great stuff making that rye bread, looks fantastic & i like the seeds additive!

Btw your garden looks mega-cool!

Haha, the garden came with my husband!!15 years ago when I moved to the house I was like: "let's dig a big hole and put in a pool..the garden is the perfect size..."(I was just kidding) I got the most horrified look from him ever!!!It was pretty hilarious :) anyway, it's a great place, wouldn't change it for the world! I'm glad you liked my sandwich!!!

Amazing! I bet it tastes as good as it looks! The green is so beautiful And that bread, I just have to start making bread again... Well done!

thanks!!!I don't know what you are waiting for?!!!come on @birdsinparadise, let me challenge you: for ssc #40 you bake your own bread as well. How about it? ;)

Just might have to do it! Off to the market I go!

What an amazing garden! The bread looks incredible. I love all the flavor combinations. This plate looks like it belongs in a fancy restaurant. Great job! Thank you for your vote last week!

I'm happy you like it!!well deserved third place @loveself!keep up the good work;)

That bread wow! It all looks so fresh and nice. I really envy your garden. Is that where the saying "green with envy came from?" Envy for a garden of green haha. Your plates are always a pretty painting!

HahahahHaha, good one:-):-)

The bread is very simple to make, no machines needed, just a bowl, sieve and a spoon...since a lot of you liked it, here's the recipe:

  • 350g of rye flour
  • 150 g of white flour (gives it lightness)
  • 1 packet of dried yeast (7g)
  • a teaspoon of sugar
  • salt (you need to salt your bread well, so two good pinches)
  • warm water ( about 1 1/2 to 2 cups)
  • seeds (optional)

Sift the two flours together in a bowl, add yeast and sugar, mix well, add salt and pour in the warm water gradually...just mix it well with a spoon, the dough needs to be very wet, almost like a thick batter, sticking to the bowl, add more water if necessary, no kneeding required. Cover and leave to proove until doubled in size (apx. 30-40 min).

Then make one loaf of a few small ones, I just scooped the dough onto a non stick tray with a spoon, make it flatter than normal buns, sift a bit of rye flour on top of each and cover. When the surface cracks - see photo below (about 15 min), bang it in a preheated oven (190 C).

A very IMPORTANT TIP for any bread baking is to put an ovenproof bowl or small baking dish with an inch of water in the bottom of the oven as you turn it on!!!! As it heats up, the steam created makes your bread rise nicely before forming a crust!!!!!!!

Bake until golden brown. The time depends on the size of the loaves, between 40-60 min, just trust your sense of smell, pierce it with a wooden scewer or tap it- if it sounds hollow, it's done!

Thanks!!! I have never worked with rye before. I love rye bread though. As soon as the oven here gets fixed I will try to sneak some bread making haha. I don't think I could achieve what you did. I will give it a shot someday.

Oh come on Carolyn, you give yourself way too little credit!i'm positive you'd bake some super delicious bread!

You're so nice haha!

Awesome, So all your ingredients are home grown? Excellent, I love it.

Yeah, it's pretty traditional, ordinary to have a garden where I live...passed on from our parents, grandparents.....

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-05T21:42:30
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 91.15/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very nice!!! :)

I thought when I first saw the picture that the chicken was bananas.

Now I am wondering how grilled bananas with avocado tastes like... :)

Hahaha, plantanes would work perfectly!!!!

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations, your post received 9.35% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @homecook! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

This post has received a 4.8 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations!,@homecook Your post has been upvoted by @reachout via the minnowsupport tag


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



SP Donation by @eturnerx , @rufans & @solomon158


Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin
###### Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

Resteemed to over 18100 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot