Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 1 - Lamb Kebab, Mango, Beet and Feta in Homemade Pita Bread

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

ddJI6A4271.jpg


Here's my entry for the innaugural #steemitsandwichcontest, hosted by the sandwich man himself, @jaybird.

ddJI6A4263.jpg


Lamb Kebab with Mango, Beet, and Feta in Homemade Pita Bread

Ingredients

  • Grilled chunks of lamb, marinated overnight in a combination of olive oil, vinegar, and oregano, rosemary, and thyme from the garden
  • Finely shredded beets from the garden, splashed with lemon juice and olive oil
  • Feta cheese
  • Mint leaves from the garden
  • Ripe mango, cut into long thin strips
  • Adventure

Additional info

I'll make a post soon about the homemade pita breads - I used olive oil that I infused with garlic and rosemary overnight, which makes the entire pita carry those flavors. The lamb pieces are from a whole leg of lamb that I butchered up into kebab sized chunks, skewered, and grilled outside. The beets and mint were pulled up from the garden the same morning. This sandwich has a great balance of tangy feta, sweetness from the mango, and earthiness from the beets, with the freshness of mint and big meaty chunks of lamb. The chewy, still-warm pita pockets just put this sandwich over the top.

ddJI6A4269.jpg


Oh darn! It looks like I just missed the cut off for the contest! Oh well, better late than never right?


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on August 14, 2017, with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Ahhhh, why did you have to post this just as I'm about to get my lunch?

I've just got a cheese and tomato sandwich. Can we swap 😊

Oh mannn so sorry! But not really because this sandwich was so good, I don't think I'd be able to share. :)

Holy Cow! Jaymore, this is an amazing sandwich! Mango, Beets and Feta. MMMMMmmmmmm. and then Mmmmmm again because they are packed into a homemade pita with meat!

Mango be one of my favourite fruits lol !

Thanks so much for your entry, it is a bit late, but I will be featuring some of the null entries in the Who Won post and this one is definitely going in there!

Week 2 is up and running. The rules have changed ever so slightly including the deadline. Please read em so we can have your next entry go for the gold or silver!

One thing I noticed is that you did not have which week # on your sign. I think that is more important than the date for keeping organized.

Not sure. Any helpful suggestions are always appreciated in order to make this contest run smoother!

I look forward to your next creatioN!

Ahh thanks so much @jaybird - and so charitable of you to feature us misfit 'null' entries at some point. I swear I can follow rules...most of the time.
Gotcha for the week number for my next entry's signage!
Gonna go check out week 2's post now! Thanks again :)))

hahaha np. And wicked!

Your post always get me drooling and hungry. Another beautifully done post @jaymorebeet. Can't wait for the pita bread post, and you may have not made the time cut but this post gets my vote.

Hahah Yess! All I was hoping for was your vote ;) thanks a ton @lifemovedbysteem!

Looks and sounds really delicious!! :) It's so cool that your beets and mint were pulled up from your garden! Can't get more organic than that! :)

Steem on, babe! :)

Thanks!! Too late to count but still one of the best sandwiches I've made :)....now on to next week actually following rules!

Wow, that looks SO gooood. BTW...Dry ice is only $1.79/lb, and the postal office recently added special sandwich mailing boxes in their kiosk repetwoisal, so keep me in mind ( :

Hahah! Those postal workers are so creative. I thought so when they made that special donut box for me last year. ;) I'll definitely keep you in mind.

OMG - This is a must try. Looking forward to your next post on the pita bread. Lovely @jaymorebeet

Yeah the flavors all together are really good! Thanks @steemit-foodie! Pita post coming soon! (So easy)!

can i please move to your house?????

Hahah! Sure thing!

Oh hell yes, this looks fantastic! Inspired and looking forward to pita bread recipe!

Thanks @ladylunasi. I love sweet and savory together mmmm. Pita recipe coming so soon!

Ahhh, lamb, the best meat on planet Earth IMHO!!! Great entry @jaymorebeet, it looks really delicious.

We actually bought a whole lamb, so maybe that tells you about how much I like it too! Helps to have a big extra freezer! Thanks @cognoscere!