SteemitSandwichContest Week#31 - Corn Bread & Chicken Burger Stack

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

So I will admit @jaybird had me stumped this week with his theme - Anything but Wheat, but after having a look at @steemit-foodie's entries where she is trying to raise awareness of Celiac Disease, I put on my thinking cap, eventually the chef's hat & Mom's apron, and managed to come up with a really delicious wheat free Corn Bread & Chicken Burger Stack.

IMG_20180312_182455.jpg

Here in South Africa, when it's time to harvest corn (or mealies as we call it), you will find pop-up vegetable vendors selling freshly picked corn on the roadside.
Cars would screech to a halt or do a U-turn to go and buy mealies.
My mother always made the most divine mealie bread which would be devoured as it was taken out of the steam pot; our cheeks would be glistening with butter as you had to eat this with a thick layer of cold butter!
So I took a gamble and decided to alter Mom's recipe for SSC week #31.
I replaced the wheat flour with Almond Flour, Mealie Meal and Psyllium Husks, and baked it, not steamed it.
The ingredients:
IMG_20180312_170000.jpg
4 sweetcorn cobs, grate as much as you can off the raw cob
150ml Almond Flour
3 Tablespoons Psyllium Husks
100ml Mealie Meal
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 Egg
Salt to taste
IMG_20180312_172231.jpg
Mix the above together, spoon into muffin pans or small bread pan (I used pie pans).
IMG_20180312_172814.jpg
Bake @170 C fan oven (180 C regular) till a nice light brown and cooked through.
IMG_20180312_180204.jpg
Success, the corn bread was perfectly cooked and did not fall apart as I thought it may do, not having used wheat flour! Plus the smell of cooked corn wafted through the kitchen.
Now for the Chicken Burger Patty.
I used Chicken Mince, added chopped Spring Onions, Parsley, 1 Egg and enough Rolled Oats to bind the patty plus salt and pepper.
IMG_20180312_171543.jpg
I formed the patties and rolled in extra Oats, this makes a nice crunchy coating once fried.
IMG_20180312_173900.jpg
Golden brown Chicken Burger Patty with crispy oats coating.
IMG_20180312_174410.jpg
The final part - assembling the stack.
First layer - Corn bread
IMG_20180312_180449.jpg
Top with fried Spring onions & Sweet Chilli Sauce
IMG_20180312_181249.jpg
Definitely need a thick layer of grated cheese on top of this
IMG_20180312_181417.jpg
Now for crispy crunchy Lettuce and creamy Mayonnaise
IMG_20180312_181914.jpg
Seal this off with another layer of delicious Corn Bread
IMG_20180312_182304.jpg
Hubby was starving by now so came rushing into the kitchen and grabbed the Corn Bread & Chicken Stack model; poor thing did not know it was going to be devoured in no time and its glory days would soon be over!
SSC31Arth.jpg

IMG_20180312_182726.jpg
Hubby's not saying much but the noises coming from him tells me this one has passed the Quality Control Test :)

My proof photo
IMG_20180312_194619.jpg

IMG_20180312_170000-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Please upvote, comment and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Hello my friend how are you, you are all a chef, that sandwiches looks spectacular, give my regards and a hug to the grandmother!

Thanks @jennimorillo, hope you're well, mom Lily said she wished she could give you some of her cookies!

I would love to!

oh my oath, you totally have my vote with this sandwich! I'm drooling!

It was delicious @intrepidsurfer, I was expecting a flop!

hehehe, well it turned out great and I bet it was amazing to eat.

Wow @lizelle another fabulous sandwich! This cornbread is amazing, must admit I've never even heard of Psyllium husks. Do you use fillets for the patties?

Good question @leighleigh, I forgot to say what I was using for the patties, have done an edit, it's chicken mince, thanks for that! It was so tasty :)

I think the Psyllium Husk helps with binding, it's used in Banting breads.

The almond flour is very good, here in my country we use the cobs and we grind them to prepare something called cachapas it looks a lot like that, good input I liked a lot, here we prepared many things with corn I was almost preparing cachapas for this challenge but I went for the banana

I just love corn and this tasted very good! Will check your sandwich :)

I hope you can go see if you like a friend, I have no doubt about the incredible taste I am a lover of corn

Oh wow, another wonderful sandwich creation :) Making us proud here with these lovely creations and I'm glad it turned out well.

Thanks @therneau that mealie bread was really delicious, the almond flour gave it an awesome flavour! Have to add a bit about South Africa hey :):)

Friend how are you? this looks delicious I like that you will use corn here in my country corn is very common so I imagine the taste of that, success in the contest

Thanks @andrina, I'm very well thanks, hope you are too :) I just love corn so would be very happy in your country, this tasted very nice :)

Wow what an epic creation! It's great to hear that the Almond Flour worked out. I've enjoyed pancakes made from almond flour and they are dammmm good!

Love the chicken burger too mixed with those oats onions and parsley. You can definitely get away without using breadcrumbs with beef, however I always find with chicken or turkey especially u need something. I've used wheat free crumbs in the past and they've always done the job!

Thank you for this challenge @jaybird, I'll be looking at wheat free options from now on, we love pancakes and I definitely want to try using the almond flour. I was worried the corn bread would fall apart but fortunately it worked, made a small loaf of bread with the remaining mixture, was delicious with thick butter melting into it!
Will be in touch tomorrow re the veto vote, it's quite late here in South Africa:)

Mmmm buttery corn bread (warm) is the best!

Yes no worries on the front get at me whenever it's convenient for you tomorrow. thx for your help in advance!

this recipe looks delicious! Your husband is the perfect witness of that! The corn bread looks like a Venezuelan's meal called "cachapas" , I think is the same recipe. Here, most or the time, we eat them with cheese. they are very tasty.

Thank you @nowonline, I must check out cachapas, all my Venezuelan friends have been telling me about it :)

Yeiiiii! you won´t regret it!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 20:21:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 297.45/200.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Look really delicious, When I see this post make me very hungry. I would like to invite you to join my foodchallenge. You can win steem dollar and steem from me. If you would like to join please click the links below. Upvoted and Greeting from @chanthasam

https://steemit.com/foodchallenge/@chanthasam/win-steem-dollar-and-get-steem-with-food-challenge

Thank you @chanthasam, will definitely have a look and join. Appreciate this :)

Very nice sandwich! Love it. I enjoy the step by step instructions. Looks like hubby enjoyed! That is what it is all about. LOL!