Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - [Love and Unity in the community] - My Entry for Week One

So I joined steemit in August 2017, at first it was a hell of a trauma for me because writing an article of over 2000 words and getting just 0.01 which was from my own upvote on the post was disastrous, it went on this way for a week and at that rate I was losing motivation, inspiration and courage so I simply stepped out. My account was dormant for a month and half till a friend of mine @illuminatus told me “Man you are wasting away”, technically that statement was rude but if we look deeply into it, I was really wasting away.. I had free data, a conducive environment with no disturbances and yet I could not spare an hour or two in the day to steem, I wasn’t commenting anymore, wasn’t posting and even when I tried I simply copied and had @cheetah telling me his usual annoying words whenever he caught someone like me

“Hey I found similar content….”.

After he made that statement I took a deep thought about it and came back online, took my time to make good posts but I was still having 0.01, I called him back three days later and told him what was going on and also tried explaining why I had left to him, right then he mentioned “You are a programmer, why not talk to @ewuoso, he’s a curator for curie and he has helped a lot of people with quality posts that were not noticed see the lime light even to the extent of getting curated by @curie, I was scared at the beginning, I thought @ewuoso wold not answer me or something but I took the bold step anyways, I chatted him up on Whatsapp and we talked for a while, he took his time to explain the rules to me and I made the first post.. it was an introduction to java programming and in it I explained how to install the Netbeans IDE and also SQLite, we waited 24 hours and he came back to me with what I’d call bad news, “Sorry man, your post was not approved” he was kind and he explained all the critics on the post one after the other and I understood, the issues with the post were;

  1. Anyone could install applications on their PC's themselves with the help of google or by simply just reading the directions on the process.
  2. The post was not well detailed with pictures and possibly a video.

So he asked me to wait a week so we try again, this time I took three days off the TV to prepare the post, it was about creating a program in Java which I explained in details from the scratch to the finish, with screenshots and a video to support it. Funny enough it was the night of my birthday and when I woke up at 7:30am, I saw the post was curated already, I screamed for joy and my sibling gathered around and wow it took almost the whole day to explain what it meant to them.
After that moment I decided to make Steemit a part of my existence, surprisingly my life turned around immediately and I started doing amazing things.


This is the screenshot of the post that was curated by @curie for me thanks to @ewuoso who gave me the rules and told me to follow them carefully.

Ewuoso taught me that once you follow the rules, you always suceed no matter how hard or difficult they are.

Life Communication

Two days later, I was being congratulated by friends here and there, @illuminatus added me to this great community group chat on whatsapp its called genesis project @genesisproject, amazing how you find a lot of people who have forgotten their age and status differences to communicate with each other without splitting or causing havoc, ive been on genesis project group for over 5 months now and I have not for one day regretted joining them, well the community was started by a group of people @ehi-boss and @ogoowinner and it has lots of members which till today I don’t know all of them but I’ll be mentioning a few of them here and how they affected my life one way or the other.

First is @illuminatus the one who’s my friend, can you imagine I joined steemit because of him. We were in a computer business centre in my school at oduduwa university and he was so busy typing a story about the earth and how she defends her own and I was so busy peeping over his shoulder to read what he was writing, then he said “Guy you would read everything now and it will not be interesting again”, we laughed it off and it was then I noticed he was doing a blog post for steemit.com, I wasn’t curios enough to ask him what it was about then, but I was curios enough to join when I got back to my house lol. So for those that wanted to know how I joined, that totally how it happened.

The things that will turn your life around most times start with a mistake, then hardwork to stop it from failing.

I also met a young lady @queenerica, though at first we kind of started out on a bad note lol that was because she was too proud and I wasn’t ready to be less proud I mean. Later we kindof talked and she was finaly nice after a long while, who does that, shes way to proud if you don’t get to kknow her personally, but im still happy I met her though, shes like my steemit crush now ;D.

Next I met was @ewuoso who helped me with the rules that got me a curie curation, after joining the genesis group chat on a fateful Wednesday we were all chatting, if I remember the topic, it was about what we’ll do if we made it big, lol as funny as the topic sounds, there was a lot of contributions from everyone and jokes too, hey I forgot to mention if youre on genesis project group chat, you will receive over 4000 messages in 12hrs, while we were talking I mentoned I was a graphics designer and someone immediately sent a private message. His name is @camzy, hes a very funny one and I call him a BIG VILLAGE GOAT, he makes avatars and he made mine, I’ll stop here. Next I met @rebeccafl, @ogoowinner, @turpsy, @adabless, @timmy-karis, @shunguystin, @sammielaboi and many others whose names have skipped my mind right now.

When you meet people, try your best to be kind and friendly because one day you’ll need them to do something for you.

After my first cashout, I wanted to sell my sbd for fiat and guess what, I sent them to the wrong username which was inactive at that point, I technically cried because I was told it wasn’t coming back except if the owner of the account sent it back, but guess where the good part of the story is I got it back three days latter but before I got it back,few friends I knew at that time with others I didn’t know had raised half of the 10SBD I had lost and given it to me for free, they all were sober with me and tried their best to help out, it was fascinating I mean how can someone who doesn’t know me from adam just decide to help because he heard I was in need, all of them on Genesis project are angels sent from heaven.

Heres the screenshot of the wrong transaction i made.

And everyone started helping...


This was the help alert i was asked to raise after it happened.

Few days later I got a refund from @escrow, I was really pleased with the owner of the account for this and this passed a message to me that, no matter what happens, always return that little thing that isn't yours to its rightful owner.

This is a screenshot proof.

Financial Communications

So in the process of converting my SBD to FIAT, I met these few people that helped me out. The first is @sammybigcoins and I met @olamax and since then my conversion has been as easy as gulping water down my throat.
At first I was trading with @airhawk-project though it was fast but I noticed we were too many trading there and sometimes before we get noticed to send in our SBD’s that is for those of us with low amounts, we might have to say it three to five times, it kept on going like that for a while till I learnt about @olamax, though we were also many there but the service was faster than that of @airhawk-project, for now that’s the two I Know of and I’ll recommend that if you want to convert your SBD to FIAT, simply go to telegram and join any of these two groups, it takes a maximum of one minute for your transaction to be complete no matter the volume you are converting.
Since trading was easy, I started giving out at least 10% of my earnings to individuals both in the steemit community and outside the community and so far I've been able to give a lot in the last five months which I’ll keep private because I believe if you want to help without been noticed it is possible.
Screenshot_20180131-231839.png
Screenshot_20180131-231849.png
Screenshot_20180131-231856.png
Screenshot_20180131-231905.png
There was this day I was faced wit a challenge at home, my younger sister was yet to complete her fees ans if she didn’t that day she was going to have to miss the semester, which means an extra year. I was very troubled and I went to my second family @genesisproject on whatsapp and I explained what was making me sad at that time, right then I met with @samminator, I never knew he existed on steemit till then, he asked me what I needed at I told him it was #50,000 and he said I’m sorry I don’t have up to that right now and he gave me 10SBD which at that moment was worth #20,000 in naira, I was surprised because it didn’t take long for him to offer a helping hand all because he knew I was active in the community.

And the next minute, I got an alert of the the whole #50,000 naira from my bank and guess who the sender was?
@illuminatus
I’ll stop here for now and continue with the business communication.

Business Communication

After declaring I was a graphics designer that fateful Wednesday, @camzy sent me a direct message and he told me he was a graphics designer also, I started out with doing free designs for few people in the group which was fun.
@camzy made a proposal to me to be his business partner, he made me my image art and all I was meant to do was add stuff to the portraits he made to make them more interesting and we made these together.

camzyb7-ff82349d2ab5.jpg
This is for @camzy himself

owb1.jpg
This is for @owb

IMG-20171228-WA0019.jpg
Lol i think i forgot who this is...

FullSizeRender copy 2-Recovered.jpg
I think this one is also for someone i don't know lol

Untitled-1-2.jpg
This one was for @japfive

PicsArt_01-21-06.54.37.jpg
An finally this is for @destinysaid

So far we've been having fun doing this for individuals on steemit, images make your blog post more interesting and you should try get one, you’ll be surprised at how good it would look in your posts.

Education Communication

Learning is a process that is never complete, no matter how old you become or how knowledgeable you are, there is still a lot out there that you can never know until you get within its reach, until I joined steemit, I never knew anything like open source contributions existed neither did I know that you can be paid for making these contributions, I made a contribution that teaches people how to do programming and I Got paid for it, I mean there are countless things you get paid for here on steemit that we get to discover on the daily.
Since I joined steemit, I began reading wide and far even away from my course as a programmer, as far as biology, history and many other courses that are not related to my field in any way. As a steemian you get an opportunity to do this every single minute, I met @ a poet and I can assure you that the moment you read her blog, you’ll become a poet also. Also @shungusytin hes an estate management student I met on the platform and he’s one of a kind. @pearlumie who’s blog is a science library, once you step in there your stepping out can never remain the same, your mentality about science changes for the better.
I met a lot of people on groups in discord too, the one group I still love most is @air-clinic lol the radio program is splufic I even got a chance to share a personal experience there once and it was fun like real fun, the people there are friendly and would always give you answers.

Most of all I have learnt the the sense of community is what we all need to be able to survive on this planet earth, without which it would be a disaster and like in Agents of shield, the earth would be blown in bits which means an end to the existence of humans lol.

Thanks for reading through my experience so far on steemit, I would have really loved to go more into deeper details but that would be sharing other peoples personal experience which is wrong morally thanks.

This is me

IMG-20171227-WA0008.jpg

Thank you to this competition Sposors : @dobartim , @flysky , @aidasfg7, If you want to join the competition, heres the link https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/3e3zoo-steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-1-registration-is-in-progress, feel free to share.

Its a privilege to be able toshare.

Sort:  

thanks for the mention bro. i am glad i could help

Lol... You're welcome man.