Steemitworldmap and HIVE

in #steemitworldmap4 years ago (edited)

I assume most of you are aware that tomorrow there will be hard fork of the Steem blockchain and a new chain will be formed called Hive. If you want to learn more you can follow @hiveio where announcements are made (it is censored on steemit, so please use another front-end). The Steemitworldmap team has decided to migrate to Hive chain as we support decentralization, and believe it is the chain the community wants.

Of course, this comes with a bit of work from our side and some questions from and for all of you travelers out there. We'll also have a new logo. Here is a first draft of our new mascot (not the final version)! 😄

Frame 1 5.png

What changes for you as a traveler?

  • From the moment the map migrates to Hive, all curation and Travel Digests will be exclusively on Hive. Posts on the Steem blockchain will not be curated.
  • From the moment the map migrates to Hive, you will no longer be able to pin your posts to the map if you are using the Steem blockchain
  • From the moment the map migrates to Hive, Steemitworldmap.com will be sunsetted (it may stay up a while as a redirect to our new domain will be announced soon)
  • When pinning your travel posts to the map, please make sure that you add the generated code snippet to your posts. You can use any of the Hive front ends you like.

What stays the same?

Everything really (map, curation, digest,...), just on a new chain, with a new name and a bit of rebranding!

Will my old posts still be pinned to the map?

Yes, of course! They will redirect to a front-end that runs on HIVE though.

Is there an ETA?

  • For the Hive chain: 10 AM EST, 20th of March
  • For the migration of the map: as soon as possible after Hive is live (we assume it should not take more than 3 days, and most likely will be ready in a few hours).

Haveyoubeenhere

For users of our mobile app Haveyoubeenhere the migration might take a bit longer (assumption is two weeks). It is expected that there will be a version of Steemconnect ready for Hive as well, so we will have to implement this, test this and go through the update process of both the Google Play Store and Apple AppStore.

What do you guys think?

We would really like to hear the thoughts of the travel community on the matter. At the end of the day, we run this project for you! So please let us know in the comments if you have any questions, doubts, thoughts or anything else you would like to share. We are looking forward to this new chapter and hope you do too!

Sort:  

Following @hiveio on steemit wont work, the account has been censored. People will have to use a different front end.

Thanks for letting me know, been using Steempeak for a bit now! Will update it in main text too!

As a long time user I am so happy to hear you are moving to Hive and that I will be able to keep my pinned map.

If you are making any changes to the Website, I would love to see the option of seeing the map in satellite view return. It is so much easier to pin exact location.

Wishing you success in our new home and thank you for providing one of my favourite Dapps.

Oh my god, I think you asked for this like two years ago and I completely forgot about it somehow! Satellite view should be pretty easy to add actually, so I will check if I can add it on the new map!

Already looking forward to being there, and the same to you! Thank you for the kind words!

EDIT: I remembered again why I didn't add it in again, I am looking a solution though! No, promises though!

Oh, if you're taking requests, can I ask you to make the button visible instead of light grey?

Anyway, thanks for joining us on Hive.

Oh, we're way past that, official announcement coming soon! Did a design overhaul! 😄

But we do always listen to feedback of course, so please share, goes for the others here too!

Love the map, and so glad it will still be around! It is awesome, and THANK YOU for this cool tool...! 💜

Aw, thanks so much for the kind words! It's really appreciated!

Thanks for your clear stance on where you will be ending up.

I use travelfeed for my posts but haven't had a chance to catch up with them yet but when I post from there in the past, it automatically adds a post to steemitworldmap. Will that still be the case?

It looks like slowly but surely, my decision is being made for me by all the dapps I use 😂

I have no clue yet what Travelfeed will decide to do with their front-end. If they will run Travelfeed on Hive, that will still be the case. If they decide to only run Travelfeed on Steem, it will not be the case! Hope that clears it up,and of course I hope to see Travelfeed on Hive too! 😄

Thanks a lot for getting back to me and it would be great for the two best travel related dapps working together! I'll see if I can probe them 😁

Nice one. #hive on!

Thank you!

I love the draft logo , so fun!!! Can't wait for the final one

Yeeeessss, I can't wait for it either! 😁

That fruity teaser face~ haha 😄

Pinning on the map is going to be so fun on Hive!!

so you are alive.

So I'm reborn doing a cross-chain reply now - my first buzz on Hive. ;)

I will be careful to use 'my first sth on Hive" .... last few tries I did --- they appeared on Steem only .... lol

But now I can use Hive, not the wallet though..

Welcome! newborn youngyoungciao! ^_^

Alive on Hive!! See you there 😀

Where would we be without the red pins, and hive nation will follow aswell. Can’t do without you.

Aw, thanks! Onwards to our new home it is!

Glad you are moving. I enjoy pinning to the world map and seeing others too.

Exciting times ahead! 😄

Good to hear you are moving community @martibis, will see you on the other side!

I already look forward to seeing your adventures there!

I've just got back to Steemit after another year of travelling, and looks like my travels are to continue. 99% of my friends and dapps are Hiveward bound, so I'll be seeing you all over there soon ...

What a time to be back! 😄

I am excited you are making the move. 🎉

That makes the two of us, making a lot of progress so far!

cool!

You know it! 😄

You can always go see it in https://hive.blog/@hiveio/posts

I guess most people know by now!

Some may still have been away throughout

I have been here on steem for well over 2 years. But this is for the first time ever that I hear about your service! So I'll explore #hiveworldmap after the migration.

Ah, so not everyone has found the map yet? Means we can improve on our outreach! 😄

What we have to expect about our funds on steem? do you suggest to withdrawal?

I am not a financial advisor, simply a dev doing dev things! 😄

!giphy awesome

Posted using Partiko Android




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

Hive hype is real!

How hive is decentralize all top witness of hive not came here with public vote , as justin kick them from steem with his power so they start calling steem centralized this is funny

How decentralized Steem and Hive are is debatable of course, but if we compare 1 person abusing stake that was not meant for governance and electing himself by voting in fake witnesses vs a lot of witnesses elected by the community, with a proven track record of helping that community, the latter seems by far more decentralized and beneficial to the chain!

You're awesome! I love your work. Actually, I was just thinking about the fact that some of my travel posts might not have been pinned on your map. Can I go back and add it? (I'll do it on peakd.com, of course.)

Aww, you're too sweet! The team and travelers like yourself is what make the map awesome most of all though! You can add posts up until an age limit of 7 days.

Ah, I was going to go back to some really old posts and just put the coordinants there... I know I won't get curated, but could it still show on the map?

Unfortunately it won't work, our crawler only looks at the last 7 days, sorry! I might look into an option to do it, but I am not sure how feasible it will be (it would mean checking every post in the entire blockchain to see if a post contains the code snippet)!

Ah, okay. I'll work harder at making sure I remember to add it - once it's all set for Hive, anyway!

All set up and ready to go! 😁

I heard that rumor... maybe I'd better edit my photo post from yesterday then... give the tool a spin. ;-)

Actually... where do I go for this? The link on your profile is for phone apps. I am not using a phone... but a desktop. Help!