steemitzombies: Optimism at the End of the World #7 : Framing and how it Shapes your Reality

in #steemitzombies6 years ago (edited)

Steemit zombies is a community and set of guidelines for encouraging the non-spammy reposting and curation of undervalued posts. Steemit zombies must use the #steemitzombies tag as a first tag, include a link to the original post, and be at least one month old with a suggested maximum of $15 payout on the original post. Come join the #steemitzombies chat in Steemit Community Catalyst discord.

I really enjoyed this series I worked on during my early days at steemit called "Optimism at the End of the World. This is one of my favorite concepts to talk about. The post did OK but I always want more people to think about framing so I am raising it from the dead now.
Original Post
Post date: 10 months ago
Payout: $7.57
Commenters: 7

Today I want to talk about framing. This is a huge topic so there's going to be a lot I leave out in this post but there will be other posts exploring this topic in the future. So what do I mean by framing?

pexels-photo-411089.jpeg

life

Life is hard.

We've all heard that before, but when you read those words do you agree? Is that the reality you are living in? Or is life a game? You may just think you are making an observation with these words but you are also defining how you interpret your future experiences. Once you make the observation that "life is hard" and let it stick, you see through a lens of "life is hard". This framing isn't set in stone, we may change our framing at any time, but deciding that something is the way that it is it takes a conscious choice and so does changing it. As we don't usually like to admit that we are wrong, changing our framing can take a lot more time and effort than creating it in the first place.

Adopted Framing

Because we are social creatures and we grow up around adults who have formulated ideas and opinions about a wide variety of subjects (including life, love, money, education, science, religion, sexuality, potatoes, airplanes, vaccinations, the sky, cartoons, bubblegum, god, and everything in between) we tend to adopt the framing of others. It's not necessarily a bad thing, but the fact that we hardly realize this framing, or socialization is occurring leaves us very vulnerable. We are encouraged to adopt the framing of our parents and the culture of the country we live in. We spend a lot of our time in schools sucking this stuff up, watching television, sucking this stuff up. Of course we don't HAVE to adopt anything if we don't want, but it's not always easy to reject an idea that is accepted by everyone (or seems to be accepted by everyone) around us. The framing is also backed by some pretty convincing arguments at times, making it very hard to question.

"Nothing in life is free."

I've heard this uttered by numerous steemians already, but is it true? It certainly sounds true in the context of most of our lives but what about in nature? Does a tree force you to pay for the fruit it provides? Does a tiger pay for the zebra? Does anyone pay for the rain? I can already see someone trying to argue that a tree requires you to climb it to pick the fruit and that this makes the fruit somehow not free of charge. All I can do is quietly face palm. This kind of thinking so perfectly proves my point. Does the tree have a concept of payment? If it is not abundantly clear to you that concepts such as of payment, ownership, debt, and money are human constructs, spend a few months living off the land without your iPhone, please. Again, I'm not labeling these things as bad, merely constructs that require certain framing.

And for the record, I've been on the giving and receiving end of kindness enough that I can say with confidence that some things in life are free.

Shaping your Reality

Do I even need to explain at this point how your framing will dictate how you see the world and your subsequent experiences? As I mentioned in a previous post, I used to think life was a struggle, and it was. Then I thought life was fun and it was. No matter how little control you have over your situation, how you interpret it is always entirely up to you.

By consciously choosing our framing we can become exactly who we want to be. Do you see yourself as a loser or do you know that you are capable of anything? What's possible and what's impossible? Our beliefs are formed by our framing and tend to reinforce themselves due to our framing.

So how can we change our framing?

There isn't one correct way to change your framing and become who you want to be, but the first step should be to recognize your framing. This shouldn't be too hard, just observe your thoughts and reactions to the happenings of your daily life. If you aren't willing to challenge your beliefs, you won't be able to change anything. For a bigger change, you need a bigger challenge.

Sometimes it's best to just play with the idea that everything you think you know could be wrong. This will open you up to lots of other possible ways to frame things. Dabbling with new ideas and trains of thought can help too. Traveling, studying a new language or a new culture or trying new things are other ways to open your mind and "opening your mind" includes exposing you to new ways to frame things.

How have you changed the way you see things? As always, I love comments so let me know your experience.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" discord community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit" and make friends.

Join Steemit Community Catalyst discord

Come join us look for ways to help minnows grow organically and create a greater sense of community on steemit. #steemitzombies , #nobidbot , the Deadpost Initiative and more project chats inside.

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

—-

If you like what I do and you have enough to spare, please consider becoming a patron on Patreon or sending some crypto gifts. Feel free to send me a message on discord if you need help raising your vibes or learning a language.

BTC 1HsHctHFoZucpjEY9NfE4SHUfEpCQwaDVc

​ETH 0x252c2641438709687aec16d42974fbc3952f88d8

​LTC Ldzq13WK1fTDZe9p7WvaQhqWyx8TWcweNx

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap

Sort:  

Reframing our conditioned thoughts is so important and I think that the crypto-sphere is (at last) giving us a chance to step outside conventional thought that has so indoctrinated our collective thinking for so many years.

But it is deeply ingrained: that we need to work harder than the next person and that nothing is for free. It will take a while but I am starting to see glimmers of light...

It's so easy to focus on what's wrong because nothing is perfect and a lot of the new world is influenced by the old world, but I keep reminding myself that steemit has blasted open a whole new range of possibilities that I never imagined before. I bring myself back to that thought whenever I'm feeling helpless about something, that there are far more possibilities than any of us can imagine and that we find the best of those when we just keep at it and believe in our ability to succeed at whatever it is we are working at.

After a year of toil, I'm finally at a point where I could pay for rent (granted i live in a really cheap apartment) and bare-bones food with steemit. How awesome is that! I'm doing what I love here!

Yep and if you think how new this all is. We're at the very beginning!

thank you for the post, this is very useful for me, and keep me proud of each postingannya from you

what an important topic @whatamidoing. I feel like many people do not want to take the time to slow down, realize their framing and then work daily to change it.. they are looking for instant change - well, I know I was for a long time, at least.. and I hear my old excuses spit out of their mouths, so I can only assume they are feeling the way I have felt.

I have been actively refereeing my framing for almost 3 years now.. I now think it's a never ending process that is ever evolving and adapting. I have become more used to asking myself why I have the reactions or assumptions that pop into my head and over time some of them disappear. I used to be one of those "Life is hard" people.. and I wondered why my life sucked lol well I was telling myself life sucks about 100 times a day so it's no wonder, right?

And for the record, I've been on the giving and receiving end of kindness enough that I can say with confidence that some things in life are free.

Couldn't agree more - after a year of homelessness and hard times I think I can now say with confidence that the best things in life are free - and readily available - you just have to accept that it doesn't come from material items

Zombies Steemitzombies GIF-downsized.gif

This is a great idea #steemitzombies.

I use another tag which is aimed at something similar, making steemit better, but through drawing attention to steemit by inviting other content creators elsewhere to steemit. If i find a video I like i share it after telling the creator Im doing so and inviting them to do the same in the future. Giving them a lil sales pitch.

I call it #growsteemit because if we grow content quality through growing membership then we can grow the caliber of content and ultimately the steem coin value.

This is such a well-presented article on how our belief systems dictate how we see the world! Using the word "framing" and also the picture of a person holding up a frame through which to see... both are great tools for paying attention to where our thoughts and words are influencing our views on life.

And I love your invitation to stop and consider the truth behind any number of common sayings, like "Nothing in life is free." Gotta wonder where a phrase like that originated, when it's SO apparent that many, many things come to us (from Nature, especially) without any expenditure on our parts!